Kats’ Kitchen

Chips Ahoy Dessert March 20, 2009

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets,Other Desserts — stacielk @ 10:21 am
Tags: , , , ,

When I posted this recipe I didn’t realize it came from  my Aunt Pat.   She also reminded me that a Hershey chocolate bar is shaved over the top of the dessert.  Thanks Aunt Pat! 

This is one of the simplest desserts you will ever make.  It involves three ingredients.  Chips Ahoy Cookies (yes, the store bought ones although I bet if you have  a homemade crunchy chocolate chip cookie recipe, you could use those), Cool Whip & Milk.  My mom always handed the kitchen to my sister and I when it was time to make this dessert.  I don’t know if there is another dessert recipe that is so simple, your kids can make without much direction and that tastes so good.  If you think of something, I want to hear about it!

I made a mini version of the dessert, but it is usually made in a 9×9 or 9×13 dish and cut into squares to serve. 

Are you ready for this?

chips-ahoy-dessert

Chips Ahoy Dessert

1 pkg of Chips Ahoy Cookies (crunchy)

1 container Cool Whip

Milk

Dip cookies in milk and cover bottom of a 9×9 or 9×13 dish, depending on how many you are feeding and if you want leftovers.  Cover first layer of cookies with a layer of Cool Whip.  Continue dipping cookies in milk and create another layer of cookies over the Cool Whip.  Repeat with Cool Whip and cookies until you’ve filled your pan or ran out of ingredients.  Let sit a few hours or overnight.  Enjoy!

 

10 Responses to “Chips Ahoy Dessert”

  1. ingrid Says:

    That is easy!! Thanks for passing along the recipe. My babygirl will love making this for dessert for us. She’s a nut, she’ll probably complain that it’s too easy and doesn’t involve the stove or any small appliances. :-) I’m happy because she won’t be able to do that much damage to my kitchen.
    ~ingrid

  2. Bridget Says:

    Oh my gosh…that sounds very dangerous & much too easy. I might make it EVERY day!!!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Oh the memories:) Still one of my favorite desserts. I think this one started with Aunt Pat?

  4. Melody Says:

    This looks to so easy and so good. How could you go wrong! BTW, I left you an award at my blog. Love reading you!

  5. Well doesn’t this sound delicious! Love those recipes that you can whip together lickety split.

  6. Aunt Pat Says:

    Hi-Your Kat’s Kitchen is great! Stephanie is correct about the Chips-Ahoy Dessert, it did come from me. You might want to mention that a chocolate candy bar was shaved on top. Tim always made this recipe too! Love, Aunt Pat

  7. Shey Says:

    I have got this recipe from my friend a couple of years ago!
    We make this alot and it called for to freeze then take out to thaw abit and serve, we have eaten it after it thaws, and its just as good!
    So, its good to know that it can also be served this way! She has made it with coffee as the dipper and I’ve tried it and its very good also! More of an adult version though, the kids prefer the milk, I’ve also dipped the coffee in chocolate milk mmm mmmm.
    Nice to see someones posted this online! :)

  8. Shey Says:

    Opps!! I meant dipped the cookies in chocolate milk, sure you’ve all got what I meant! :P

  9. Shey Says:

    also use carnation milk as we call it here in canada… evaporated milk known to everyone.. suppose to be good I just found that recipe online, the lady said its the most asked for dessert she has ever made, and also makes it for her kids school parties which they also make too… can’t beat how easy it is… it makes an awesome frozen icecream b-day cake too :)

  10. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much.

    I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped
    me.


Leave a Reply

