Kats’ Kitchen

Crockpot Shredded Pork Sandwich February 17, 2009

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 1:07 am
Tags: , ,

spicy-shreded-pork

I  give all the credit to Cynthia from Austin and Ree at The Pioneer Women Cooks for this recipe.  Ree’s blog is one I follow pretty closely.  She always has great looking pictures and a good story with her recipes.  The other ones I’ve made from her blog is the Pumpkin Gingerbread Cheesecake and her Apple Bundles, both delicious!

If you haven’t checked out her site, you should!  It definitely won’t be a waste of time and you may find yourself drooling.  BUT PLEASE come back to see what else I have for you!

You can serve the shredded pork on buns, in taco shells or just as it is with some taters and a salad.  This meat freezes really well and if you get the pork on sale (mine was 99 cents a pound) it is an extremely frugal few meals for the fam!  (FYI, it’s not all that spicy either if you’re worried about it being too hot for your tastebuds.) 

Cynthia’s Spicy Shredded Pork

(Recipe from:  Cynthia & Ree)

4-7 Boston Pork Shoulder/Butt

1 onion

1 tsp chili powder

1/4 cup brown sugar

3-4 garlic cloves

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp ground cumin

1-2 Tbsp salt

pepper

1-2 Tbsp olive oil

2-3 Tbsp White Wine Vinegar

Lime Wedges

Rinse and pat dry the pork and place in crock pot.

Throw the dried oregano, cumin, chili powder, salt, black pepper to taste, the white wine vinegar and brown sugar into a food processor blender.  (Decrease or omit brown sugar depending on your taste.)   Cut one onion into quarters and throw that in with the spices.  Blend mixture until totally combined and pour it over the pork shoulder.  (I used my handy immersion blender, which work pretty good, it took a bit to get the onion chopped up.)  Rub the mixture all over the meat.  Cover the pot and turn it on low 8-10 hours. 

A half hour before dinner, uncover crock pot, remove pork if possible, de-bone, de-fat and shred that sucker up.  Place the shredded meat back into the crock pot with the juice it made and keep warm till ready to serve. 

Serve on buns, in taco shells or just as it is with some taters and a salad.

 

5 Responses to “Crockpot Shredded Pork Sandwich”

  1. Bridget Says:

    WHY have I never seen your blog before?!?!? :) Oh my, my mouth is watering looking at these pictures!!!

  2. Melody Says:

    I enjoy PW’s site too. I’ve yet to try this shredded pork, but it looks delicious! Thanks, I’ve been looking for some frugal recipes.

  3. ingrid Says:

    Yum, I haven’t made pulled pork in awhile. WIll definitely give this a try.

    Ree is pretty funny & does have some great recipes. I’ve made a couple of them myself.
    ~ingrid

  4. Reeni Says:

    How delicious!! Once in a while I check out Pioneer Woman, like when she has those great giveaways!

  5. Junie Moon Says:

    As I’m orginally from North Carolina where we consider our barbecue pulled pork the best in the world, I’m thrilled to find the recipe you’ve posted. I’m digging out my crockpot and giving this recipe a whirl. Thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

