Kats’ Kitchen

Zucchini Bread November 18, 2008

Filed under: Bread,Breakfast — stacielk @ 9:03 pm
Tags: ,

I have to thank a co-worker for the zucchini contribution for this bread. I had a taste for zucchini bread this fall and it was too late to buy some at our local farmers’ market.  I made a promise to make zucchini bread with the zucchini she gave me and to bring a loaf for her husband to enjoy.  So that’s what I did.

I thought the smartest thing was to write down the recipe my mom always used for zucchini bread when she made it for me as a kid.  (I should say ‘us’ not just me, but I can’t remember my sister really loving the stuff…)  So the last time I was at my parents I had my mom show me the recipe and I wrote it down.  I was looking for that good, moist zucchini bread recipe that promised to be as good as I remember it to be.

It did turn out well, the taste was great but it was a bit on the dryer side in my opinion.  I know exactly what I did.  I cut down just a bit on the sugar, I didn’t think about it taking anything away from the bread besides sweetness. Did you know sugar retains moisture in baked goods?  I probably knew that at one time but wasn’t thinking about it when I was making this bread.  It’s good to know if you like experimenting with adding/taking away ingredients.  I know I still have a lot to learn!

Zucchini Breadzucchini

3 eggs

1 cup oil

2 cups sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups grated zucchini

3 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup nuts (optional)

Beat eggs until light and foamy.  Add oil, sugar, vanilla and grated zucchini.  Add dry ingredients.  Mix together.  Add nuts if desired.  Poor in greased loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for one hour, until a toothpick inserted comes out relatively clean.

 

2 Responses to “Zucchini Bread”

  1. Lisa Otis Says:

    Hi, your blog looks so good! The pictures are wonderful!
    I love to bake so I plan on trying some of your recipes. I’ll check back often!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    You are right about me not liking the zucchini bread…or banana bread for that matter…still don’t! But because I am a good wife I make banana bread for Phil:)!


Leave a Reply

