Kats’ Kitchen

Stuffed Green Pepper Soup October 4, 2008

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 5:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

Looks like it’s time to post again!  It’s been a while but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been in the kitchen! 

I got this recipe from my friend Laura, who got it from her mom.  Laura saw my Smoky Stuffed Peppers and thought I would enjoy this soup, which I did.  Instead of simmering for an hour, I threw all the ingredients in the crock pot before I left for work one morning.  I thought it worked good and according to Laura, the texture was the same as if it was simmered for an hour.  Instead of buying chili sauce, I decided to make my own, which made the soup a bit too sweet.  I would advise going out and buying Heinz Chili Sauce (should be next to the ketchup) instead of finding a recipe for it on-line and substituting that. 

I would definitly make this soup again, and it feezes really well for a quick lunch or supper on these chilly days we’ve been getting lately.

Stuffed Green Pepper Soup

(Recipe from:  Laura’s Mom)

1 lb ground beef, browned and drained

1 can (46 oz) tomato juice

1 1/2 qt water (46 oz)

3 medium green peppers, diced

12 oz chili sauce (Heinz)

1 cup uncooked white/brown rice

2 ribs celery, diced

1 large onion, diced

3 beef bouillon cubes

2 cloves garlic

1/2 tsp salt

Simmer one hour or cook in crock pot on low 8-10 hours.

This soup freezes well.

 

One Response to “Stuffed Green Pepper Soup”

  1. Ashleigh Says:

    Yum! The weather is getting cooler and this yummy recipe is going on my dinner list! It looks great. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

