Kats’ Kitchen

Fudge Meltaways September 4, 2008

Filed under: cookies — stacielk @ 6:15 am
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve had a jar of Nutella sitting in my cupboard for some time now waiting for it to be used up so I decided to do a Food Blog Search and came up with more recipes using Nutella than I could make in my life…ok, maybe not, but there were a bunch of them that looked good.  I chose a filling recipe using Nutella and made meltaway cookies to smoosh in between them to make sandwich cookies.

These days I can usually pass up any type of chocolate chip, oatmeal, peanut butter cookie.  Not that they aren’t good, but have been eating them my whole life, they aren’t anything new.  These Fudge Metlaways I could not keep my hands off.  The cookies melted in my mouth while the fudge filling…did whatever it did.  Ha, so much for my description.  Anyway, I recommend everyone trying these out if you’re up for something new.

See you next week.  I’m off to Scottsdale until Tuesday.  104 degrees here I come! 

Fudge Meltaways

(Recipe adopted from:  Recipezaar and The Essential Chocolate Chip Cookbook)

Cookie:

 1/2 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 cup cake flour

3/4 cup cornstarch

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Sift both flours, cornstarch, baking pwd and salt into a medium bowl.  Set aside

Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar at medium speed until smooth.  Scrape sides as needed.  Mix in vanilla, decrease mixer speed to low and add flour mixture just until combined and smooth dough forms.

Use about 1/2 Tbsp of dough to form each cookie.  Roll each into a ball and place on lined baking sheets.  Flatten with a fork to about 1 and 1/4 inches in diameter.

Bake sheets one at a time until the bottoms of the cookies begin to brown, about 25-30 minutes.  The tops should not change color.  Cool on pan for about 10 minutes and transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

Filling:

1/4 cup Nutella

3/4 powdered sugar

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla

4-6 tsps water

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl with a fork or mixer.  Add more or less water to get the consistency you desire.

Assembling:

Spread fudge filling on the bottom of one cookie.  Press another cookie into the fudge filling to make a sandwich.

 

2 Responses to “Fudge Meltaways”

  1. Jen Says:

    These look so good– I love Nutella and cookies filled with it would be amazing.

  2. Jeanine Says:

    Yummy! Love the Nutella as well, that should be a food group in itself! :)


Leave a Reply

