Kats’ Kitchen

Granola Bars August 6, 2008

Filed under: Breakfast,Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 12:40 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

The recipe for these granola bars came from Elizabeth from Kitchen Wench .  I would have to admit I over-baked mine.  I do like them crunchy, but my dried fruit did not like how much time they spent in the oven.  These things were kind of like the crunchy granola bar Kashi sells.

Besides over-baking, a couple of my problems were:

  • Size of pan, mine was a bit larger, therefore my bars were thinner then Kitchen Wench’s. (that should have made a light go off in my head that I didn’t need to bake them as long) 
  • Conversions, I did my best with the grams…(I should at least get credit for attempting this recipe!)

Check out Kitchen Wench’s blog for some great pictures of these ‘muesli’ bars. 

Granola Bars

(Recipe from:  Kitchen Wench)

11.24 oz (320 g) rolled oats

1/3 cup plain flour (I used whole wheat)

3.25 oz (100 mL) vegtable oil (I used evoo)

5.27 oz (150 g) mild honey

3.5 Tbsp (50 g) brown sugar

2-3 Tbsp smooth peanut butter

2.81 Tbsp (40 g) desiccated (dry) coconut

5-6 oz (150-200 g) assorted nuts/seeds

5-6 oz (150-200 g) assorted dried fruit

1. Preheat oven to 160, line an 35×25cm (or close) tin with baking paper.

2. Roughly chop the nuts and larger pieces of dried fruit into smaller pieces (about the same size as a sultana/golden raisin). Then place the chopped nuts into a bowl with the oats, seeds, coconut and flour and stir together with a wooden spoon till well combined.

3.Heat the honey in the microwave or on your stovetop (in a pan, of course!!) till it is liquid, then add the sugar, peanut butter and oil and whisk together till everything has melted.

4. Pour together the wet and dry mixture and stir together till evenly combined, then place into your lined tin. Wet your hands with some cold water, and using both the wooden spoon and your hands, pack the mixture down flat, making sure to get it into the corners.

5. Bake for 30-40 minutes if you prefer a softer, chewier muesli bar, and up to 50-60 minutes if you prefer a crunchier one. During the baking process, to help hold it together, use a wooden spoon or rubber spatula to squish down/compact the baking mixture every 10-15 minutes or so (not sure if it actually helps, but I did it anyway)

6. Once baked, remove from the oven and use a hot oiled knife to mark the bars in the tin (the mixture will fall apart if you remove it from the tin while hot!). Allow to cool for about 15-20 minutes, then carefully remove from the tin to your chopping board and cut the bars apart.

7. These can be stored in an airtight container in a cool place for up to 2 weeks – and taste FAR superior to supermarket varieties! Just make sure you layer nonstick baking paper between the layers as they do have a tendency to stick! (**unless they are crunchy b/c you baked them longer**)

 

2 Responses to “Granola Bars”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    These look fantastic! Mmm…I do miss a good granola bar.

  2. Glenna Says:

    I relate. It doens’t take long to go from “dry” to “dried” when it comes to granola, bars or cereal. A couple of batches ago I hated to but I had to throw out a batch of granola cereal because I went from “dry” right on in to “burned” fruit bits. The bars look great and so does the recipe.


Leave a Reply

