Kats’ Kitchen

July’s Daring Baker’s Challenge: Filbert Gateau with Praline Buttercream — Replacement: Biscotti! July 30, 2008

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets,cookies — stacielk @ 1:19 am
Tags: , , , ,

I had to ‘sit out’ on July’s Daring Baker’s Chellenge because of a few different reasons BUT Megan from My Baking Adventures and I decided to take on one of the previous challenges from before we were members.  We went with the Chocolate Biscotti which was baked in December of 2006. 

The original recipe came from Baking:  From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.  I saw that Ivonne from Cream Puffs In Venice changed the recipe a bit by adding toffee bits to replace half of the nuts during the Daring Baker’s Challenge back in 2006 and they looked great, plus I had toffee bits that I’ve been wanting to use up.   I was not a bit disappointed with this recipe.  They were excellent.  I like them best dunked in a good cup of coffee or glass of milk but they were tasty without dunking.  Of course, so I wouldn’t end up eating all of the biscotti myself, I shared them with my co-workers.  One of them told me I should open my own bakery…of course besides the job that I currently have…I’ll have to give that some thought.

The only other thing I changed was I used pecans, because I didn’t have almonds on hand.  This recipe was not complicated at all.  This was the first and probably not the last time I will be experimenting with biscotti. 

Check out the Daring Baker’s Blogroll to see how everyone did on their Filbert Gateau with Praline Buttercream!

Chocolate Toffee Biscotti

(Recipe adaopted from:  Baking:  From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan)

Servings:  20-24 biscotti (depending on how wide you slice them) 

Storing:  Airtight container for up to a week

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 Tbsp instant espresso powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

6 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup pecans, roughly chopped

1/2 cup toffee bits

3/4 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips

4 oz white chocoalte

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a pizza stone (baking sheet) with parchment paper.

In a bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, instant espresso powder, baking soda and baking powder.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, using the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and sugar on high speed until fluffy (about 2 minutes).

Add the eggs and vanilla extract and mix for another 2 minutes.

With the mixer on low speed, slowly add the dry ingredients.

As soon as the dry ingredients have been incorporated into the batter, remove the bowl from the machine and add the pecans, toffee bits and chocolate chips.  You can use a wooden spin or your hands to stir them itno the dough.

Once you’ve icorporated all the ingredients, divide the dough in half and roll each half into a log about 12 inches long.

Carefully transfer the logs to the parchment-lined pizza stone/baking sheet.  With your hand, flatten each log so that its roughly an inch high and about 2 inches wide.

Bake the logs for 25 minutes.  The logs will spread a bit and may even crack a bit. 

After 25 minutes, remove the logs from the oven and let them cool for 30 minutes.

Using a serrated knife, carefully slice the logs into biscotti.  Each biscotti should be about three-quarters of an inch wide.  Transfer the biscotti back to the baking sheet and stand them upright.

Once you’ve sliced the logs into biscotti, return the biscotti to the oven for 10 minutes.

Once the biscotti are done, place them on a wire rack to cool.

When the biscotti are completely cooled, melt the white chocolate over a double boiler.  Using a whisk or a fork, drizzle the melted chocolate all over the tops of the biscotti.  Let the chocolate set before serving the biscotti.

 

7 Responses to “July’s Daring Baker’s Challenge: Filbert Gateau with Praline Buttercream — Replacement: Biscotti!”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Well I made the July cake but your biscotti looks fabulous!!

  2. Olga Says:

    These look good! I just don’t understand why these recipes are so complicated? I’ve made biscotti before, and I remember the process was a lot simpler.

  3. Jen Says:

    What a good idea to go back to one of the old challenge recipes… the biscotti look great and I love toffee bits.

  4. Your biscotti looks mouth-wateringly delicious!! Bravo to you for doing the past challenges – I’ve been wanting to do this myself since I started!! Gorgeous work! :)

  5. Megan Says:

    Yay! The biscotti look awesome! Glad we did this – let me know if you want to do another one!

  6. JacqueOH Says:

    Mmmm, it looks so pretty! I’ll bet it WAS good dunked in coffee. Nice job!

  7. Jeanine Says:

    Your chocolate biscotti looks wonderful! I haven’t made a good biscotti yet, maybe I should give this recipe a shot. :)


Leave a Reply

