Kats’ Kitchen

Special Treat No-Bake Squares July 23, 2008

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 8:42 am
Tags: , , , ,

I think this bar needs a new name, what do you think?  This came out of my recipe book called The Cookie Bible.  Besides cookies, this recipe book also has recipes for brownies and bars.  I made these for my Grandma’s 80th Birthday Party.  After setting them out, they were gone in a matter of minutes. 

Special Treat No-Bake Squares

(Recipe from:  The Cookie Bible)

Crust

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 egg

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

3/4 cup flaked coconut

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Filling
1/3 cup butter, softened

3 oz cream cheese, softened

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup powdered sugar

Glaze

1 (2 oz) dark sweet or bittersweet candy bar

1 tsp butter

Line 9-inch square baking pan with foil, shiny side up, allowing 2-inch overhang on sides.  Set aside.

For crust, combine 1/2 cup butter, granulated sugar, cocoa, egg and salt in medium saucepan.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens, about 2 minutes.  Remove from heat; stir in graham cracker crumbs, coconut and pecans.  Press evenly into prepared baking pan.

For filling, beat 1/3 cup softened butter, cream cheese and vanilla in small bowl until smooth.  Gradually beat in powdered sugar.  Spread over crust; refrigerate 30 minutes.

For glaze, combine candy bar pieces and 1 tsp butter in small resealable plastic food storage bag; seal bag.  Microwave for 50 seconds.  Turn bag over; microwave 40 to 50 seconds or until melted.  Knead bag until chocolate is smooth.  Cut tiny corner off bag; drizzle chocolate over filling.  Refrigerate until firm, about 20 minutes.  Remove bars from pan using foil.  Cut into 1 1/2 inch squares. 

Makes about 3 dozen squares.

 

9 Responses to “Special Treat No-Bake Squares”

  1. Jen Says:

    I agree with you on the name… but they do look really good. I love a graham cracker crust

  2. farida Says:

    These look so good! Yummy!! NO wonder they were gone so fast. I have a book called Cookie and Biscuit Bible, but it doesn’t have this recipe in it. I guess they are different book. I have the recipe now, from you:) Thanks for sharing! Do you think I can do without a glaze or can I substitute it with something? I am not a big fan of glaze, especially white glaze, so wondering if I could do without it:) Thanks:)

  3. Laura Says:

    These look so tasty. I like the idea of a no bake crust. I’ll have to give it a try.

  4. Jeanine Says:

    Those look great! I’m sure that your Grandma appreciates what a great baker you are. :)

  5. Marians Says:

    Yay! Interesting…

  6. Cristine Says:

    These look delicious!!! I’m definately going to try these soon!

  7. Ashleigh Says:

    Wow…your entire blog makes me want something sweet! These sound wonderful! This is definitely going on my “to try” list. Great blog!

  8. ingrid Says:

    Happy Birthday, Grandma, belatedly! These look great. I have that cookbook and have yet to make anything from it but I just might now!
    ~ingrid

  9. Chris Says:

    I have this exact same recipe from another source and have been making them for over 15 years and every I make them I have people begging me for the recipe. They are extremely yummy and rich.


Leave a Reply

