Kats’ Kitchen

English Muffin Loaf June 11, 2008

Filed under: Bread,Breakfast — stacielk @ 7:25 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

This recipe comes from Faith Church’s cookbook, A Little Bite of Faith.  Surprise, surprise, I made a few changes to this recipe, I used 3/4 cups whole wheat flour instead of all white.  I also added 1 tsp Cinnamon and 3/4 cup raisins. 

I’m not really sure what I expected when I took a bite out of this thing, but I liked it!  It didn’t have as many ‘nooks and crannies’ as an actual english muffin, but it had a nice texture.  I threw my piece in the toaster oven for a few minutes and spread on some butter.  This would be really good with some jelly if made without the Cinnamon and raisins.  Next time, I would add more Cinnamon and raisins if I decided to go in that direction, or just make it whole wheat and eat with jelly.

English Muffin Loaf

(Recipe from:  A Little Bite of Faith, Faith Church)

5 1/2 -6 cups flour

2 Tbsp yeast

1 Tbsp sugar

2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

2/3 cup powdered milk

2 1/2 cups hot water

cornmeal (optional)

Combine 3 cups flour, yeast, sugar, salt, baking soda, powdered milk.  Add 2 1/2 cups hot water (not boiling) and beat well.  Stir in 2 1/2 -3 cups additional flour to make a stiff batter.  Pour into 2 greased loaf pans which have been sprinkled with cornmeal (or flour).  Sprinkle tops with cornmeal.  Cover and let rise 45 minutes.  Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

