Kats’ Kitchen

Tiarmisu goes healthy June 5, 2008

Filed under: Other Desserts — stacielk @ 11:19 am
Tags: , , ,

It’s too bad New Year’s is already far behind us, because I just thought of a good New Year’s Resolution for myself.  I could wait till next year…but that wouldn’t be any fun for me now, so instead I’ll make it my goal for June 2009.  I’m giving myself a year but I hope it won’t take that long.  My goal is to make one recipe out of each cookbook I own that I have not made before.  (I find myself making recipes I find on other blogs instead of using my own cookbooks!)  I really couldn’t tell you how many cookbooks I have, maybe 12-15-20ish (I’ll have to count them sometime), so I doubt it will take all year, but you never know! 

Don’t forget, I love to get your comments, questions, suggestions!  If you ever try a recipe on my blog, let me know how it turned out and what you thought!

So here goes, my first recipe to reaching my goal.  I went with one out of The South Beach Diet Taste of Summer Cookbook by Arthur Agatston.  First of all, I want to make it clear that I do not follow this diet.  The only reason I have this book is because I won it through our local Christian radio station Shine 89.7 probably about a year ago and have not made a thing out of it, until now! 

I decided on the Tiarmisu recipe since I had all the ingredients in the house.  I’m sure any normal recipe for Tiarmisu has a ton of calories and fat, this one, 130 calories and 2.5 g fat (1.5 sat) for 1/4 of the recipe.  Not bad!  The taste…I’ll admit, it is not close to being as good as the real thing, but I thought it was really good considering how many cals/fat it doesn’t have in it.  (Although instead of using sugar substitute, I used the real stuff, so it probably tasted better than it was supposed to…)  Anyway, I would definitely make this again, especially if I need to make a dessert for someone on some kind of diet, I think this would be a hit.

South Beach Diet Tiarmisu

(Recipe from:  The South Beach Diet Taste of Summer Cookbook by Arthur Agatston)

Prep Time:  20 minutes   |   Cook Time:  20 minutes   |   Cool Time:  30 minutes

A favorite Italian dessert, tiramisu (meaning “pick-me-up,” in reference to the espresso and cocoa it includes) makes a light yet rich finish for summer supper.

6 large egg whites

1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1/8 tsp salt

3/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup plus 2 Tbsp granular sugar sub

6 Tbsp whole-grain pastry flour

1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese

1/2 cup fat-free or light whipped topping

1/4 cup strongly brewed decaffeinated espresso

1/2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

Mint sprigs for garnish (optional)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly coat an 8 by 8 inch baking pan with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, with an electric mixer at high speed, beat egg whites, cream of tartar, and salt until soft peaks form, about 5 minutes.  Add 1/2 tsp of the vanilla and beat to combine.  Add 1/3 cup of the sugar substitute and beat until stiff peaks form.  Sift 2 Tbsp of the flour over beaten egg whites and gently fold to incorporate.  Repeat twice with remaining flour until all of the flour is incorporated.

Pour batter into the pan and gently smooth the top.  Bake, turning once halfway through, until cake is golden and a tester inserted into the center comes out clean, about 20 minutes.  Cool completely.

In a small bowl, combine ricotta, whipped topping, remaining 2 tsp sugar substitute, and remaining 1/4 tsp vanilla.  Cut cake in half vertically down the middle to make two 4 by 8 inch pieces.  Place the halves on a flat work surface.  Drizzle 2 Tbsp of espresso onto each half.  Spread half of the ricotta mixture onto one of the halves and dust with half of the cocoa powder.  Top with remaining cake half; spread the top with remaining ricotta mixture and dust with remaining cocoa powder.  Using a serrated knife, gently cut cake crosswise into 4 slices and serve with mint leaves for garnish, if using.

Makes 4 servings.

 

4 Responses to “Tiarmisu goes healthy”

  1. farida Says:

    Healthy tiramisu is what I need these days:) Cause I am dieting and trying to cut down on sugar and flour. Not sure how long it will last:) But I think your tiramisu is great for anytime:) Lovely post!

  2. Jeanine Says:

    What a great challenge for yourself! Can’t wait to see what you all come up with. :) The tiramisu looks fantastic!

  3. Jj Says:

    Had to chuckle; I, too find myself making more recipes from blogs now than I do from my own cook books and magazines, too!

  4. Justin Says:

    Good tiramisu!!! Sometimes you maybe unsure of “healthy” desserts because it may not have the same strong taste, but this was good!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

