Kats’ Kitchen

Fresh Summer Salad May 31, 2008

Filed under: Salad — stacielk @ 12:56 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

The first official day of Summer is not until June 20 this year, but it sure is finally starting to feel like summer, so why not start making summer dishes.  If you remember way back in February I hosted a Lost Season Premier party at my house and made Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup.  Well, this past Thursday was the Lost Season Finale, so why not have another party?  I didn’t host, but offered to bring something.  We decided to go healthy because swimsuit weather is just about here, (and no, that is not a pictures of me…), but that flopped when someone showed up with a gigantic frosted cookie and another with bars that didn’t exactly turn out.  I made this Fresh Summer Salad I found at Elle’s blog.  I thought it was pretty tasty but next time I will make sure I have good ripe tomatoes, I made the mistake of buying them the day I wanted to cut them up.  I served the salad with a sliced baguette which I didn’t make, but it reminded me a little of Julia’s bread I made here.   

.

Fresh Summer Salad

(Recipe from:  Elle)

4 cucumbers, peeled and cut into chunks

4 tomatoes, seeded and cut into chunks

1/2 cup fresh parsley, roughly chopped

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

3-4 Tbsp olive oil

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp coarsley ground pepper

Toss all ingredients together and serve. 

 

***Pretty simple, and like I tell my husband, when making something like this or cooking, you don’t necessarily need to measure the ingredients to a T.  When baking, almost always measuring is the key to it turning out right.  That’s my opinion, anyone disagree?***

And here is my first attempt at growing tomatoes. 

Tomato Plant

 

3 Responses to “Fresh Summer Salad”

  1. Carisa Says:

    Even though we were trying to stay healthy, I have to admit the cookie and the bars were really good. :)

    I couldn’t tell that the tomatoes weren’t quite ripe, I thought the salad was great! :)

  2. Jeanine Says:

    That salad looks so yummy & refreshing. it is nice to get into the lighter tastes as summer comes.
    Good luck with your tomato plants! I counted yesterday, and I’m pretty sure that my Mom & I have over 30 plants this year. EEK! About 6 different varieties though, some are small & yellow, and others are large, round tomatoes, that are supposed to be purple, orange, yellow, pink. I can’t wait to make a tomato salad using all those beautiful coloured tomatoes! :)

  3. Laura Jones Says:

    oooh this sounds like it will tide me over until my mid afternoon snack and before my after brekkie snack, hahaa. does sound yummy tho! :)


Leave a Reply

