Kats’ Kitchen

Chicken, Chicken and more Chicken May 19, 2008

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 12:50 pm
Tags: , , ,

I recently made a few chicken dishes that I really enjoyed and wanted to share.  I didn’t have enough patience to take my own pictures, so I’m posting pictures that I found from websites (since my favpart about blogging is seeing pictures, although I don’t think any of these pictures do the dishes justice!)  Out of these three, Chicken Marsala was my favorite.

Chicken Parmesan Pasta

Recipe from www.kraftfoods.com

Serves 2

(Recipe & picture from:  Kraftfoods.com)

2-3 chicken boneless skinless chicken breast

1 egg white beaten (I use milk)

1/2 cup Italian seasoned dry bread crumbs

1 1/2 cup spaghetti sauce

3/4 cup mozzarella cheese (shredded)

1/2 tsp oregano

3 oz spaghetti noodles (I like to use whole wheat spirals)

Dip chicken in egg (or milk) and dredge in bread crumbs to coat both sides.  Place in a 8×8 inch pan.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through topping with cheese the last 5 minutes.  In the meantime, cook the noodles, drain, place back in pan and mix in the sauce until heated through.  Serve the chicken over the pasta. 

Very simple and extremely tasty!

 

Chicken Marsala

Serves 2-4

Picture from www.olivegarden.com

(Recipe & picture from Olivegarden.com)

2-4 chicken boneless skinless chicken breast

1/4 cup cake flour (1/2 Tbsp corn starch + enough AP flour to fill 1/4 cup)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp Oregano

4 Tbsp oil

4 Tbsp butter

1/2 tsp Pepper

1 cup fresh mushrooms, sliced

1/2 cup Marsala wine

Combine flour, salt, pepper, and oregano and blend well (I just tossed it all together).  Heat the oil and butter in a skillet until bubbling lightly.  Dredge the chicken in the flour and shake off the excess.  Cook the chicken on medium heat for about 2 minutes on the first side, until lightly brown.  As you turn the breasts to the second side to cook, add the mushrooms around the chicken pieces.  Cook about 2 more minutes, until lightly browned on the second side.  Stir in the mushrooms.  When the second side is lightly browned, add the wine around the pieces, cover the pan and simmer for about 10 minutes. 

That’s it!  I’ve tried Rachael Ray’s Chicken Marsala which included a number of ingred. I didn’t have on hand and at least another 45 minutes to an hour longer than this.  I wasn’t happy with the result, but this recipe turned out really good!

 

Picture from www.kraftfoods.com
Bruschetta n’ Cheese-Stuffed Chicken Breasts/Bruschetta Chicken Bake
Serves 6-8

(Recipe and pictures from Kraftfoods.com)

These two recipes I got from Kraft Foods.  I thought both recipes turned out really good.  They both use pretty much the exact same ingredients but for the stuffed chicken, the meat needs to be pounded and for the chicken bake the chicken needs to be in bite-size pieces.  So it really depends on what your up for doing that night, pounding or cutting.  Like I said both turned out great and another very easy recipe.  Here is where you can go for both recipes:

Bruschetta n’ Cheese-Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bruschetta Chicken Bake

 

 

One Response to “Chicken, Chicken and more Chicken”

  1. Anjanette Says:

    Hey there! Thanks for the comment on my blog. And thanks for the welcome. There are so many members, I don’t think I would’ve found you. So, good job on seeking out another Hoosier!

    It’s funny that this post is about chicken….I just made chicken piccata on Sunday night. I thought about Marsala, but chose piccata instead.

    Great blog by the way!


Leave a Reply

