Kats’ Kitchen

Cheesecake Pops — April’s Daring Baker’s Challenge April 27, 2008

Filed under: Daring Baker Challenges,Other Desserts — stacielk @ 1:05 am
Tags: , ,

Cheesecake Pops

I have folders and folders of recipes that I eventually want to make, and of those folders I have one recipe for Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Cheesecake Pops, and now I have a reason to make them, or at least something similar!  Elle from Feeding My Enthusiasms & Deborah from Taste and Tell were the lucky ones to decide on the recipe for this month.  I really enjoyed this challenge.  I made my pops into squares (I got the idea from the PB pops I mentioned above), it didn’t involve digging the hands into the cheesecake and dipped the cheesecake in Wilton Chocolate Melts (I used these also in my Chocolate Shots and loved working with them).  I dipped some of the pops in ground peanuts and some I left alone for those with braces (my little bro who ended up digging the cheesecake out of the chocolate mold with the sucker stick and then eating the mold on its own, he always comes up with creative ideas to eat his food). 

I find that if I make something and eat it the same day, the flavors don’t come out and I don’t enjoy it as much as I do if I eat it the next day or a few days later.  This could be because of working with all the ingredients and sometimes, yes I’ll admit, lickin’ up the remaining batter from the bowl or spat.  I wonder if I’m on my own with this…even cookies, cake, pretty much any baked good!  I thought about this because about a week after I made them, I took one out of the freezer, brought it to room temp and enjoyed every small bite of it, more than I did when I ate one the night I made them.  I was surprised at how smooth and creamy the cheesecake was and thought that it didn’t even need the chocolate, but the choc sure made them look pretty :)

For the recipe and to see how other Daring Baker’s cheesecake pops turned out, check out Feeding My Enthusiasms & Taste and Tell.

     

Cheesecake RoundUP

 

 

14 Responses to “Cheesecake Pops — April’s Daring Baker’s Challenge”

  1. Tanya Says:

    Your cheesecake pops look awesome! We both had very similar ideas. I made squares and triangles and dipped them in peanut butter and chocolate coating. Great minds think alike!

  2. Jeanine Says:

    They look yummy!! :) Mmm…peanut butter & cheesecake, sounds like a good combo!

  3. Jen Says:

    Your chocolate coating looks like it turned out way better than mine. Are the chocolate melts a -what’s it called- the chocolate coating instead of eating chocolate? (well not that you can’t eat the chocolate coating bars but they’re generally a little weird on their own)

  4. Dawnie Says:

    Hi Kat’s Kitchen! Of all the pops I’ve seen today, your method looks the closest to what I would do – baking in a square pan, and alleviating the need to scoop! Did you make the full recipe or was that 1/2? I’m thinking of what size pan did you use? This would help me a BUNCH! With Thanks from Carolina! :)

  5. Jerry Says:

    Great job! Very lovely!

  6. Lisa Says:

    I don’t think your alone here. I’m pretty much disgusted with anything I make by the time I’m done. Excessive sampling is my most likely culprit.

  7. Deborah Says:

    I had to laugh – I usually am not hungry to eat whatever I am making because I “sample”too much – so I totally know what you are talking about!! Your pops look wonderful!

  8. jennywenny Says:

    They are very pretty! I found myself enjoying these a lot more than I thought I would once I got started, but wasnt very inspired to be creative. I agree with you about the sampling! As I hope to eventually do this for a living, I try not to, as its really bad practice in a professional kitchen!

  9. Barbara Says:

    Great looking pops.

  10. Sheltie Girl Says:

    I love your beautiful square pops! I’m a taster…then I never want to eat the final product because I’ve tasted it along the way.

    Natalie @ Gluten A Go Go

  11. pixie o Says:

    I don’t have that problem…I can keep ‘sampling’ until i almost finish everything! your pops look great!

  12. JennyBakes Says:

    I really love the square pops!

  13. Mom Kats Says:

    Stacie’s cheesecake pops not only look like something out of a magazine, they taste just as delicious! One square pop is just the right portion following dinner. Thanks for serving such a wonderful dessert to us !

  14. your square pops are just perfect ! wonderful challenge :) congratulations :)


Leave a Reply

