Kats’ Kitchen

Strawberry Margarita Freeze April 15, 2008

Filed under: Other Desserts — stacielk @ 6:38 am
Tags: , , ,

This dessert would be great on a warm summer day, but it can also be enjoyed on a colder, not quite spring-like, night at about 10 p.m., which it was last night!  My mom and I headed over to the salon in our friends house to get new hairdos and I brought a dessert just because. :)  It was a late night for me considering it was a Monday, but worth it!  My mom and I both love our new dos (I’m sure we could use some styling practice yet) and dessert was icily refreshing.  Next time I would crush the pretzels up a bit more, run them through a food processor so they it is more of a crumb, but other than that I don’t think I would have changed a thing!  I left it in the fridge last night to see if it would hold up, it did sink around the edges, but I think it will still taste good.  If you are not a strawberry fan, I’m sure this recipe would work great swapping out the strawberries with raspberries or blueberries or any other creative flavors you come up with!  Maybe even chocolate…maybe…I’d have to think through that one.

Strawberry Margarita Freeze

1 1/2 cups crushed pretzels

1/4 cup butter, melted

1 pkg cream cheese (1/3 less fat)

3/4 cup sugar (a bit less)

1 1/3 cups orange juice

1 cup crushed strawberries

1 8 oz tub cool whip, thawed (cool whip free)

Mixpretzels and butter;press firmly onto bottom of 9-inch spring-form pan.

Beat cream cheese and sugar in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until well blended.  Gradually add orange juice, beating well after each addition.  Stir in crushed strawberries.  Add whipped topping; stir with wire whisk until well blended.  Poor over crust.

Freeze several hours or until firm.  Remove from freezer; let stand in refrigerator about 15 minutes before cutting into slices to serve.  Store leftover dessert in freezer.  

I should have tried to shave off that little bubble to make it more attractive huh?

 

3 Responses to “Strawberry Margarita Freeze”

  1. NinaBeth Says:

    This looks delicious! I like the bubble, it’s more of a “homestyle” approach as my mom always says. :)

  2. It does look quite delightful but what’s cool whip and what would be an adequate replacement?

  3. farida Says:

    This looks great! Easy to assemble too, although I also have a question about cool whip. Do you mean whipping cream?


Leave a Reply

