Kats’ Kitchen

TOFU Chocolate Chip Cookies??? April 3, 2008

Filed under: cookies — stacielk @ 1:55 pm
Tags: , , , , ,
cc-cookies.jpg

Did I get your attention?  That’s right, chocolate chip cookies that have tofu in them.  I actually made two different kinds of CCC.  (I was in the mood to bake and why only make only 1 batch of cookies?)  The first recipe is nothing too different than a normal chocolate chip cookie recipe, we call them ‘babies’.  Very tasty, chewy and mouth watering.  The second, is a healthier twist to the chocolate chip cookie that call for tofu.  Those who know me may think I’m quire for trying this recipe…but if you try them, you would be surprised!  They turned out tastier than I thought considering there was no butter/margarine in them.  I hope I haven’t scared anyone off yet, hear me out, please keep reading!   (especially you women out there:)  I’ve researched tofu a bit and found this list of benefits you can get from eating the stuff:

See, I told you it would be worth it.  The tofu cookie is cakeier than the other chocolate chip cookie and if you don’t know anything about tofu, you can’t taste it at all in the cookie (it really doesn’t even taste like much by itself either, I made myself eat a little bit straight before adding it to the cookie batter.  It’s not something I could eat by the spoonful, but mixing it in with other foods/dishes I could handle…my husband is probably freaking out right now…)  He actually had one of the tofu cookies not knowing that they had tofu in them and he said they were different (probably b/c they have the texture of a cake rather than a cookie), but good and I kept finding him going back to the cookie jar for another one, although once he reads this post, he may not too much anymore. 

Now that this recipe was a success, the next recipe I’d like to try is the Amazing Black Bean Brownies.  Amazing????  We’ll see about that.

Tofu Chocolate Chip Cookiecookie-dough-1.jpg

(Recipe from:  Sunday Nite Dinner)

My changes are in parenthesis & italics.

Ingredients:
7 ounces soft tofu (1/2 a square), roughly chopped
1/3 cup (3 ounces) cream cheese
1/3 cup (3 ounces) natural or organic salted, creamy peanut butter (natural chunky but would like to try Better’n Peanut Butter next time)
3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
4 large egg whites
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
A touch of almond extract (optional)
2 1/2 cups oat flour or white whole wheat flour (whole wheat flour)
1/4 cup semolina flour or cornmeal (cornmeal)
1 teaspoon baking soda
8-10 ounces semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips/chunks

Directions:
1) Adjust the oven racks to the upper- and lower-middle positions and heat the oven to 375°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or spray them with nonstick cooking spray.

2) Whisk the flour, semolina and baking soda in a medium bowl; set aside.

3) With an electric mixer, mix the tofu until smooth, about 1-2 minutes. Add cream cheese and peanut butter and beat until thoroughly blended. Add the sugars; mix until combined, about 2-3 minutes. Beat in the egg whites and vanilla until combined. Add the dry ingredients and beat at a low speed just until combined. Stir in chocolate chips to taste. Chill the dough in the refrigerator for 15 minutes.  (It was pretty gooey!  I had to flour my hands each time making the balls.)

4) Roll a scant 1/4 cup of the dough into a ball. Hold the dough ball with the fingertips of both hands and pull into 2 equal halves. Rotate the halves 90 degrees and, with jagged surfaces facing up, join the halves together at the base, again forming a single ball, being careful not to smooth the dough’s uneven surface. (Instead of putting the halves together, I placed the two separate halves on the baking sheet and the cookies were still pretty big!) Place the formed dough balls on the prepared baking sheets, jagged surface up, spacing them 1 1/2 inches apart.

5) Bake the cookies until light golden brown 13 to 16 minutes, rotating the baking sheets from to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time. Cool the cookies on the sheets. Remove the cooled cookies from the baking sheets with a wide metal spatula.

Makes 28-30 cookies

Babiescookie-dough-2.jpg

(Recipe from:  PR Christian School Ladies Auxiliary)

1 cup white sugar

1 cup margarine

1 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup oil

Cream above ingredients together until very light and smooth.

Add:

1 egg

1Tbsp milk

2 tsp baking powder (or 1 tsp cream of tartar)*

1 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

3 3/4 cup flour

12 oz pkg chocolate chips

Mix thoroughly and bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes until they just start to have a touch of brown.  Don’t overbake if you want soft chewy cookies! 

 

5 Responses to “TOFU Chocolate Chip Cookies???”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    Wow, chocolate chip cookies with tofu, who would have guessed! However, I can’t wait to see your blog entry on the black bean brownies! I saw a recipe for a chocolate cake that used black beans, but I just couldn’t bring myself to try it (yet!). Can’t wait to hear your experience with the black beans! :)

  2. Chuck Says:

    I’m glad you made the tofu cookies and liked them! A few friends give me a strange look when I tell them they are tofu cookies. But like your husband they keep coming back for more. Try it some time with oat flour. They’ll be less crumb, but I think they taste better with oat flour.

    I also want to try out the black bean brownies, sounds interesting.

  3. your big sis Says:

    Hi Stacie!

    I love the Babies recipe. Glad you put it on the website! Next time try using half whole wheat flour and maple extract instead of vanilla…yum yum!!!

  4. your big sis Says:

    …and isn’t it supposed to have cream of tarter? Its much better that way…

  5. Sarah Says:

    Arent tofu chippers awesome? I made some a while back with a diff recipe on my blog – they were a hit!


Leave a Reply

