Kats’ Kitchen

Bocalicious Chili April 1, 2008

Filed under: soup — stacielk @ 6:34 am
Tags: , , ,
chili.jpg

I’ve been getting daily e-mails from Hungry Girl with tips and recipes on eating healthier.  It’s been good and I’ve been learning alot about foods I’d probably never try.  This recipe is from their site.  I bought some Boca burgers a while ago and decided that I’m not a big fan of eating them on a bun, burger style, so I decided to throw the rest in this chili, ground up.  I loved it!  This will be my go-to Chili on those cold snowy days here in Chicago.  (I’m hoping their won’t be too many more of those this year!)

Bocalicious Chili

(Recipe from http://www.hungrygirl.com/)

Yield:  4 servings

2 Packets of Meatless Ground Boca OR 4 Original Vegan Boca Burger Patties (I used 3)

2 Cans Mexican Style Stewed Tomatoes (I used 1 original plus 1 no salt and 1/4 cup salsa b/c I couldn’t find Mexican style at the store)

1 small onion

1 can kidney beans (I know realized I used black beans…shows how much I pay attention to recipe ingredients)

Cumin, salt, pepper, chili powder

(I also added mushrooms which I had on hand)

Spray frying pan with nonstick cooking spray.  Heat pan, saute onion, and add ground Boca when onion start to brown.  Saute Boca and onions.  Season to taste with cumin, onion powder, salt, pepper chili powder.  Add stewed tomatoes and continue to cook over medium flame for about 8 minutes.  Add beans for the last three minutes or so.

188 Calories, 1 g of fat, 15 g protein, 26.5 carbs, 9g fiber (3 WW points)

 

One Response to “Bocalicious Chili”

  1. Deborah Says:

    I don’t really like Boca burgers, either, but this sounds like a great way to make them taste better!! It sounds great!


Leave a Reply

