Kats’ Kitchen

Easter Dessert – Chocolate Eclair March 25, 2008

Filed under: Other Desserts — stacielk @ 12:32 am
Tags: , , ,

choc-eclair.jpgLast Easter my husband and I went to my parents for Easter dinner along with my aunt and uncle, their family and my grandmas.  I offered to bring a dish that one of my co-workers brought to a potluck at work once, Brussels Sprouts au Gratin.  Yes, I know, brussels sprouts are not a favorite but think about them mixed in with ooey gooey cheese, wine and seasonings.  Well, I will have to say this dish was not a big hit.  I believe most of the fam gave it a try and I got some criticism from a select few that know I can take it. (we’ll keep the names confidential and just call them the laughing till they weep sisters)   Straight from one of their mouths was, “they taste like cigarette butts.”  FIRST of all I’m not sure how they would know that unless they have eaten a cigarette butt…I didn’t question them and SECOND who, especially me a newlywed still trying to find her way around the kitchen, knew that when picking out the brussels sprouts, the SMALLER the better.  I went to 3 different grocery stores looking for the most gigantic sprouts I could find!  Bummer, there was my problem.  Anywho, I believe my grandma said she liked them, she probably got one of the smaller ones and I was sent home with the rest.  But that was last Easter.  This Easter we went to my mom-in-laws and I was in charge of dessert.  That’s a safe one for me.  I decided on the good old Eclair Dessert.  One of my favorites.  I wonder if I should try the brussel sprouts again next year when we go back to my side of the family and get the right size sprouts and hopefully impress everyone…well, I have a year to decide on that one.  In the meantime, here is the recipe for the Eclair Dessert:

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

(Note:  This recipe is best made at least 24-48 hours before serving so the crackers get nice and soft)

(Recipe from:  I believe I copied this one from my mom who got it from who knows where)

1 box graham crackers

2 small pkgs french vanilla pudding

3 cups milk

9 oz carton cool whip

Mix the last 3 ingredients together.  Layer graham crackers on bottom of a 9×13, spread half the pudding over the graham crackers, another layer of crackers and spread the rest of the pudding.  Put the last layer of graham crackers and spread the chocolate frosting (recipe below) on top of that.  Refrigerate for at least 24-48 hours before serving.

Chocolate Frosting

2 pkgs Choco bake

2 Tbsp margarine

1 1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 Tbsp maple syrup

3 Tbsp milk

Mix all ingredients together.  Add more milk if needed to get the right consistency.  Spread on last layer of graham crackers.

 

9 Responses to “Easter Dessert – Chocolate Eclair”

  1. Amy Says:

    I happen to LOVE brussel sprouts… small ones of course! :) I would have eaten your au gratin brussel sprouts and loved it. I like them so much that I buy the steamers things from the freezer section of the grocery store and have just brussel sprouts for lunch.

    FYI – there are a ton of things on this that I want to try. You’re quite the creative culinary chic!

  2. Lucia Says:

    Oh wow, this looks so decadent, a perfect treat for spring time, I’d say.

  3. farida Says:

    Hi Stacie! Thanks for visiting my blog! It lead me to yours which I like a lot! Mmmm, I loved your Chocolate Eclaire! I am sure if I bake it for my hubby who has a sweet tooth, he will be delighted:) Thanks for sharing! I added you to my feeds to keep updated on your culinary adventures!

  4. Jeanine Says:

    Mmm…those look YUMMY!! I bet it was all gone after your Easter dinner, wasn’t it. Looks like something I’ll have to try soon. :)

  5. ingrid Says:

    I love this recipe! So easy! WOW! You’re going to be keeping me busy. I love that I don’t need to use the oven!
    ~ingrid

  6. Jackie Mitchell Says:

    Your picture is incredible! I’ve heard of this recipe before, but never really felt interested in making it until I saw that picture of yours – yummmm!

    Having said that, I don’t know what “Choco bake” is, or how big a package of it is. Can you help? I’d love to make it, and I like the way your frosting looks in the picture. Gotta try it!

    Thanks!

  7. This looks absolutely delicious!!!

  8. kim Says:

    Im assuming when you say 2 packages of choco bake you mean 2 of the 1 ounce packets that are in the package?

  9. stacielk Says:

    Yes, you are right! So 2 ounces total.


Leave a Reply

