Kats’ Kitchen

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies March 20, 2008

Filed under: cookies — stacielk @ 12:31 am
Tags: , ,

All the credit for this recipe, and the actually cookies, go to my mom.  She made these cookies I believe twice now…this is the first time I gave them a try and I think the recipe (with the substitution of chips) is a keeper!  The recipe she used is from www.verybestbaking.com.  They are actually called White Chip Chocolate Cookies.  As you can see in the picture, instead of using the white chocolate chips she used mint chips.  This cookie reminds me a lot of my mom’s famous Thanksgiving Day Mint Brownies but in cookie form. 

If this isn’t the first time you’ve checked out my blog, you will know that this isn’t the first recipe I’ve posted that is my mom’s (although the first that she made and I haven’t tried yet).  She deserves most of the credit to my baking skills since she basically taught me how and let my sis and I make disasters in her kitchen when we were young and wanted to bake.  Thanks mom, you’re the best, along with your cookies!

mint-cookies.jpg

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Recipe from www.verybestbaking.com

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup baking cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 large eggs

2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) mint chocolate chips (or other chips)

 

Preheat oven to 350° F.  

Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in chips. Drop by well-rounded teaspoon onto ungreased baking sheets.

Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until centers are set. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

 

2 Responses to “Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Mom Van Eck Says:

    Stacie,

    Thanks for giving me the credit though I am not sure I deserve it. I actually think you have passed me up in the cooking/baking department which is ok. I’m very proud that you use your abilities to share with others and we always enjoy you sharing them with us!!

  2. Jen Says:

    These look really good… I used to hate the chocolate/mint combo but now I love it. I don’t think that I’ve ever seen mint chips for sale in the grocery store though- are they from a specialty shop?


Leave a Reply

