Kats’ Kitchen

Double Trouble — PB Cheesecake Swirled Brownies March 3, 2008

Filed under: Other Desserts — stacielk @ 7:30 am
Tags: , , ,

These brownies are delicious!  If you’re a chocolate and peanut butter lover I’m sure you will agree with me.  Thanks to Baking Blonde for this recipe.  I first saw the picture of these brownies before knowing what they consisted of and I knew I’d be giving these things a try.  Mmmmm…  Thanks to my BKS co-workers for helping me eat these up (my husband was unfortunately out of town and I didn’t want to end up eating them all myself!  Which I could have…but not without getting sick soon afterward.)  I have a few extra Reese’s cups leftover so I’ll probably be making these brownies again soon so Justin can give me his input, although my guess is he’d probably still prefer his favorite – Payday Bars

Double Peanut Butter Cheesecake Swirled Brownies

3/4 cup butter, very soft (not melted but softer than room temp)reeses-2.jpg
1 cup sugar
1 TBS vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate, melted
1 oz. semi-sweet baking chocolate, melted
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

 

Peanut Butter Cheesecake Swirl

4 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cups creamy PB
1/3 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
5-6 Reese’s peanut butter cups (regular size) cut into 6-8 pieces each
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8″ square pan with foil and lightly coat with cooking spray.
In a microwave safe bowl melt the two baking chocolate squares in 30 second intervals stirring after each interval until smooth and melted after stirring. Do not scorch! Remove from microwave and allow to come to room temperature.
In a large mixing bowl, beat together butter and sugar until combined. Beat in eggs one at a time until blended. Add vanilla and melted chocolate. Mix to combine. Combine dry ingredients in medium bowl and whisk together. Gradually stir dry ingredients into butter mixture. Do not over-mix.
reeses.jpgPeanut Butter Cheesecake Swirl
In separate mixing bowl, beat together cream cheese, peanut butter, sugar and vanilla until smooth. Add egg and beat until just combined.
Spread about 2/3 of chocolate brownie batter into prepared pan. Evenly drop 1/2 of cheesecake batter in dollops over brownie batter. Run a knife through both mixtures to slightly swirl.

Dollop remaining brownie batter and cheesecake batter over swirled mixture. Run knife through the brownie and cheesecake dollops (not all the way through the already swirled layer) to create a swirled pattern.

Bake for 40-45** minutes, or until center is set and a toothpick inserted in the center has a few crumbs stuck to it. Do not over-bake or they will harden, if under-baked they will be too gooey. Every oven is different so watch and check these after about 35-40 minutes of baking to ensure proper doneness.
**After about 35-40 minutes of baking (with about 5-7 minutes of baking time left, you just need to eyeball it) gently place cut up Reese’s cups over top of almost fully baked brownies. Finish baking until a toothpick inserted in the center has a few crumbs stuck to it. The Reese’s PB cups will melt but hold their shape slightly. Cool completely on wire rack before cutting and serving.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Double Trouble — PB Cheesecake Swirled Brownies”

  1. bakingblonde Says:

    YUM! Hope you enjoyed them as much as I have!

  2. Phil Says:

    Now this is my kind of recipe!!! Bring these over the next time we see you :):)

  3. Jen Says:

    These look amazing. I don’t know what else I can say. (well maybe as soon as I have any kind of excuse to avoid studying and start baking that I will be making these)


Leave a Reply

