Kats’ Kitchen

Happy Birthday Dad! February 18, 2008

Filed under: cake — stacielk @ 4:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

dad-1.jpgI was put in charge of the cake for my dad’s birthday, which was Sunday.  I know he loves his Ice Cream Malt Shakes, so I decided to make a Malt Cake.  The malt flavor didn’t come out as much as I would have liked it to, but it was still good!  Very moist even with using the Weight Watcher’s Diet Coke cake recipe.  I used the icing recipe that Paula Deen used on her Chocolate Malt Cake, which is a very rich icing, almost too much for my taste. 

The whole family enjoyed this cake, even my little but bigger brother (yes, I’ll admit, he is now at least 3 or 4 inches taller than me,  but I’m still stronger!) with his two heaping scoops of chocolate ice cream on the side. 

Chocolate Malt Cake

1 Chocolate Duncan Hines Cake Mix

1 Can Diet Coke

1 Egg White

Handfull of Malted Milk Powder

Mix all ingredients together and bake in 8-9 inch prepared round pan for about 30-50 minutes.  (I use Wilton’s bake-even bake strips so the cake is evenly baked without the edges getting done before the middle, I love ’em, but the cake takes longer in the oven.)

Frosting (I made half this recipe which was plenty!)

(Recipe from:  Paula Deen’s Holiday Magazine)dad-2.jpg

1 Cup Butter, softened

1/2 Cup Cocoa

3/4 Cup Heavy Whipping Cream

1/2 Cup Malted Milk Powder

5 Cups Powdered Sugar

Malted Milk Balls/Whoppers

In a large bowl, beat butter and cocoa powder at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy.

In a small bowl, combine cream and malted milk powder, stirring to dissolve.  Add cream mixture to butter mixture, beating at low speed to combine.  Gradually beat in powdered sugar until spreadable.

Putting it all together:  Cut cake in half horizontally and spread part of the frosting on the bottom half.  Sprinkle chopped Malt Balls over frosting.  Place top layer on top of chopped Malt Balls and continue frosting the rest of the cake.  Decorate as desired.

 

One Response to “Happy Birthday Dad!”

  1. NinaBeth Says:

    Oooh, I love your chocolate letters. I never would have thought about writing words like that.


Leave a Reply

