Kats’ Kitchen

Pampered Chef’s Pecan Tassies January 1, 2008

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 9:31 pm
Tags: , ,

pecan.jpg

These little tassies are easy to make and the ingredient list is simple, I usually have everything in the house already.  This is the second time I made these this week.  I took the first batch to a birthday party.  My husband loved them so much (which surprised me because he does not like pecan pie) he requested I bring them to our New Year’s Eve party also. 

A mini-tart shaper would be very convenient for making these but I haven’t gotten around to buying one so I use my fingers to press the dough into the muffin pan which works perfectly fine.

Pecan Tassies

(Recipe from:  Pampered Chef)

Yield:  24 tarts, Prep time:  30 minutes, Bake time:  20-25 minutes

Tart Shells

1/2 C butter or margarine, softened

3 oz cream cheese, softened

1 C all-purpose flour

 Beat butter and cream cheese until well blended.  Add flour; mix until a soft dough forms.  Refrigerate for one hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Using a small scoop, shape dough into 1-inch balls.  Place balls into ungreased mini-muffin pan and press dough to cover bottom and side of each muffin tin. 

Filling

2 Tbsp butter or margarine, melted

3/4 C packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 C pecan halves, finely chopped

Stir melted butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla.  Add pecans and mix well.

Fill each tart shell (do not overfill).  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.  Remove from oven cool in pan 3 minutes.  Remove from pan and cool completely.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar, if desired.

pecan-2.jpgpecan-2.jpg

pecan-2.jpg

 

4 Responses to “Pampered Chef’s Pecan Tassies”

  1. Tartelette Says:

    Pecan tassies are such a trouble dessert for me: I can’t stop eating them! They look gorgeous!

  2. your big sis Says:

    Great blog!

    I am sure my hubby is excited that I have another recipe page to look at:) To be honest…that peppermint/marshmallow cake sounds a bit much to me, but I am glad you liked it! Well, maybe I need to start a page about the joys of cooking from scratch in Nigeria…what do you think?

  3. peabody Says:

    These are my mom’s favorites. I have never had them though…crazy I know. They do look good.

  4. lolojo Says:

    i am a pc kitchen consultant in tn. i love these little tassies! this past christmas i made them for several get-togethers and they were a hit. to save time i used pie pastry sheets and the flower-shaped (scolloped) bread tube – which we no longer sell :( – to cut out the pastry shells. it gives a sweet little scolloped edge that looks like a sophisticated pastry chef did all the work!


Leave a Reply

