Kats’ Kitchen

Grandma’s Banket December 17, 2007

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 4:18 pm
Tags: , ,

Last week my grandma-in-law taught me (along with my mother-in-law and sisters-in-law) how to make Banket.  (For those of you who are not dutch, this is a dutch pastry using almond paste.)  Since this was the first time I have ever made it, I thought I would give it a try again on my own so I would get some practice making this dutch pastry.  Note this recipe needs to refrigerate overnight before completing.

Grandma’s Banket

banket.jpg

Day 1

Pastry:

4 C flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 lb – 1/2 butter & 1/2 Imperial (cut into chunks)

1 C ice water

Use pastry blender to mix the first four ingredients together.  Add water slowly and continue to blend.  Continue mixing using your hands and quickly form a solid ball.  (The less you mess with it, the better.)  Spread dough out in pie plate and refrigerate overnight.

Filling:

1 lb almond paste (shredded)

1 1/2 C sugar

3 eggs beaten (save 1 egg white)

2 tsp corn starch

couple drops almond extract

Mix all above ingredients together with large spoon pressing down to smooth out paste.  Spread this also in a different pie plate and refrigerate overnight. 

Day 2

Divide each pie plate into ten portions evenly.  Shape 1/10 of the dough portion into a bean shape and roll to about 10 inches long by 3 inches wide (about 1/2 inch thick).  Roll 1/10 of the filling into the thickness of the size of a thumb and as long as the pastry, place on rolled-out dough.  Roll up and seal with cold water.  Brush with egg white (slightly beaten), prick each roll four times with a fork and sprinkle with sugar. 

Bake at 400 degrees for about 30-35 minutes or until tops are golden brown.  Cool on cooling rack.  Once cool, place on tin foil covered cardboard and wrap with saran wrap and tin foil.

dsc02941.jpg

 

3 Responses to “Grandma’s Banket”

  1. Tartelette Says:

    I impulively bought a can of almond paste today and I now I see this recipe! Hope you won’tmind if I try it, it sounds amazing!

  2. Carol Rohde Says:

    I would like the Dutch Banket recipe e-mailed to me since I am away from my own computer. Thank you.

  3. Karyl Says:

    Reblogged this on Artsy Wanderer and commented:
    These remind me of cookies my stepmother used to make. I have got to ask her for that recipe!


Leave a Reply

