Kats’ Kitchen

Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie and a Pinterest Dress April 23, 2014

Cookie-SkilletMake this TODAY.  I mean the cookie, not the dress, unless you have lots of time on your hand, than go ahead and make both, but this Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie is a must.  Seriously, it’s only 7 in the morning, you still have time to serve it for breakfast, but don’t forget the ice cream.  Didn’t we used to have backwards day?  Today is a great day for that.  Start with dessert and end with your cup of coffee…although I think I will skip the coffee at 8 at night, then I won’t sleep, then the next day won’t be pretty.  My kids would not like me.  They don’t deserve that, so no coffee for me that late at night.  Or maybe you are reading this at 7 at night….you STILL have time :)  ANYWAY, where was I.  The Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie is…awesome.  Just out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie

3/4 cup melted butter (I actually browned my butter b/c I recently read about putting browned butter in baked goods.  If you don’t know how to brown better Our Best Bites just posted about it so head over there to learn how!  It’s really not that hard, you just gotta keep an eye on it)

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg + 1 yolk

2 cups flourDress-2

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp kosher salt (I used course kosher salt and I will use maybe 1/2-3/4 tsp next time.  I actually do really enjoy the subtle salty taste on my tongue but without the ice cream I think it would be a bit much or I would just stick with regular salt.)

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°.

In a large bowl, using a wooden spoon, combine melted butter and both sugars. Stir until there are no lumps.

Add in vanilla, egg and yolk. Stir until mixture is smooth and egg is fully incorporated.

Stir in flour, baking soda and salt until incorporated.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Spread evenly in a 10″ cast iron skillet. (I used a 9 inch)

Bake 15-20 minutes until edges start to golden. Don’t overcook. The center will appear slightly loose.

Let cool 10 minutes on wire rack and scoop onto plates or bowls.

Serve with vanilla ice cream.

Recipe from Cookie & Cups

Now for the dress.  Super cute, not too hard.  Creating my own pattern was a bit difficult, but I figured it out.  The only thing I would change next time would to make the bottom portion of the dress wider.  The tutorial came from The Ribbon Retreat Blog. Fabric is from JoAnn Fabrics. :)

 

3 Responses to “Skillet Chocolate Chip Cookie and a Pinterest Dress”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    Cookies for breakfast?!?!?! I am totally game!!! Add some ice cream and you have your dairy!! My kids would be thrilled too!! HA!!! Wouldn’t that be a good time! Perhaps for someones birthday……. GREAT job sewing too!

  2. Hey Stacie, been a long time! The cookies look amazing and I cannot believe the grown up little girl! Hope all is well :)

  3. Bobbi Says:

    This was so very very VERY good!!! We enjoyed it a few weekends ago, topped with ice cream and hot fudge :). yum! THANKS for sharing!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers