Kats’ Kitchen

Quick Chicken Soup & Jalapeno Popper Dip January 6, 2014

Filed under: Appetizer,Chicken,Main Dishes,soup — stacielk @ 5:34 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

So, these two recipes may not go together, but they are delicious and instead of holding you back from making one or another for another month or so, until I post again, I thought I’d be kind and share them both with you!

jalp-pop-dip

The Chicken Noodle Soup is a GREAT dinner or lunch for days like these chilly artic days.  It was pretty quick to throw together, although not super quick because you need to do a bit a chopping, etc. But I like my little handy dandy food processor to do most of that for me.  I shared some of this soup for a friend of mine.  Her and her kiddos really enjoyed it!  As does my family :)  But it is always nice to have someone outside the family tell you also….for some extra (re)assurance.

This dip is a recipe I got from a friend.  I made it last month when I was stuck at home from a Christmas party with my sick little guy….yes, you heard me right, but I will repeat, I made it for myself….I felt kind of selfish, but I guess I was unselfish for staying home with my sick kid right?  So it’s all good, plus I only made half the recipe.  And I just made the other half today, for my family, but I was the only one that touched it, NOT because it wasn’t good, just because they just don’t like that kind of stuff, their loss, my gain, more for me (sorry selfish again….)  SO yes, this dip is delicious!  Served warm on crackers.  OR leftovers between some grilled bread (aka grilled cheese, I added a bit more shredded cheese to the sandwich, IF you do have leftovers and want to try it that way.)

Sorry for being so wordy, it’s been a while…or maybe I have cabin fever.  Who knows, but I really recommend both these delicious recipes.  If you give them a go, come back and let me know what you think!

If you would like the Jalapeno Popper Dip, head on over to FAVORITEFAMILYFOODS, and don’t forget to say hi in the comment section!

l_RU199271Quick Chicken Soup with Pasta (my comments are in parenthesis)

serves 4 (so you might wanna double it!)

½ lb mezze penne rigate or other small-cut pasta (I’ve used both small noodles and egg noodles)

2 T evoo

6 cups chicken stock

1 lb skinless, boneless chick breast

1/2 cup dry white wine 

1 large bay leaf (I omitted)

5-6 carrots, peeled and sliced crosswise

1 small onion, chopped (I used food processor to chop)

2-3 large cloves garlic, chopped (put this in food processor with onion)

2 T chopped fresh thyme (dried)

1 rind Parmigiano-Reggiano (opt) (I omitted but bet it would had a nice flavor!)

1 cup frozen peas (ick, one veggie I don’t like….I threw in some chopped celery instead)

½ cup chopped flat-leaf parsley

1 small lemon, zested (I omitted)

 Cook pasta to al dente in a soup pot.  Drain and drizzle with EVOO

 In a sm sauce pan, pour in 2 cups chicken stock to cover the chicken.  Add the wine and bay leaf (if using), simmer until chicken is cooked through, about 12 min.

 In the empty soup pot heat 2 T evoo over med-high and stir in carrots, onion, garlic and thyme, season with salt and pepper.  Cook until veggies are softened, about 10 min.  Add remaining 4 cups chicken stock and cheese rind (if using); bring to simmer. 

 Remove the chicken from liquid and cut into bite-size pieces (OR throw in your stand mixer and mix just until shredded-so easy!)  Add chicken to soup.  Strain the poaching liquid into the soup.  Stir in the peas (ick….or celery) and parsley; discard the bay leaf (if using).

 Spoon pasta into bowls.  Ladle in the hot soup and top with the lemon zest (if using) and extra grated parmigano-reggiano if desired.

Recipe and picture from Rachael Ray

 

2 Responses to “Quick Chicken Soup & Jalapeno Popper Dip”

  1. Lala Rukh Says:

    Hmmm This chicken soup will be the best to warm my winter :) Love the recipe xx

  2. Brandi Says:

    This chicken noodle soup is the BEST soup I’ve ever had! I can’t wait to have it again!! Thanks so much for sharing!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers