Kats’ Kitchen

Homemade Peanut Butter June 18, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacielk @ 10:44 am

So it all started with a bag of Raw Peanuts from Bullseye Marketplace in Vandalia, Michigan.  (Side note:  if you are ever driving around or visiting Southwest Michigan, be sure to stop by Bullseye Marketplace, I love cute stores like these!)  Back to the peanuts, I asked the cashier how to turn them into roasted/salted peanuts, since they didn’t sell any in the shell that way.  She suggested boiling them because her and her husband love them this way…so I did, but because of, I believe, too high of temperature in the oven trying to dry them after the boil, it was unsuccessful…there is a longer story to go along with that, but I won’t get into it. :) So I had a bunch more peanuts left in the bag, and not really wanting to try boiling them again…I went to another option that I’ve wanted to try, PEANUT BUTTER!!  Homemade!  Yes, love it!  The recipe I used is from The Homemade Pantry by Alana Chernila.  The nice thing about making your own peanut butter is that you can make it exactly the way you like it, texture AND taste.  I added a bit more honey and salt to mine than the recipe asked for.  The one downside to making peanut butter is shelling the nuts…unless you buy them pre-shelled which probably costs a bit more.

Peanuts-PB

Nut Butter

1 pound (3 ½ cups) shelled raw nuts

3/4 tsp kosher salt, plus more to taste

4 tsp honey (I added a bit more)

3 to 4 T canola or peanut oil

Preheat oven to 350.  Roast nuts (out of shell) spread out on baking sheet for 10-20 minutes until they begin to brown.  Let cool slightly.

Place nuts, salt and honey in a food processor.  Blend for 20 seconds and drizzle in 3 T oil and continue to blend until it reaches your desired consistency (this could take a few minutes).  Add additional oil or salt if necessary and a bit more honey or any other add-ins to your liking.

Store in your fridge in a covered container for 2 month.  Not recommended to freeze.

Recipe Adopted from The Homemade Pantry:  101 Foods you can stop buying and start making by Alana Chernila