Kats’ Kitchen

Better than Chipotle Bowl April 18, 2013

Filed under: Salad,Side Dish — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

DSC_0507

I love throwing a salad together at the beginning of the week for myself so I have a ready-to-go lunch at least a few times during the week.  It makes lunchtime easier and usually helps me keep my lunches healthy.  This salad is full of veggies with some beans to make it a bit more filling and a touch of flavor for it to taste good.  I ate it with a baked tortilla, broken into chip-like pieces.  Why didn’t I just eat it with tortilla chips….I guess to make it healthier!  (I threw a whole wheat tortilla in my oven at 350 for 10-20 minutes until it was crisp).  It is a super simple salad to make, nothing to it besides some chopping and mixing, try it for yourself!

Better than Chiptole Bowl

1 onion, chopped

1 garlic clove, chopped

1 Tbsp lime zest

3 Tbsp lime juice (about one lime)

1/4 tsp. sea salt

4 Roma tomatoes, chopped

1 cup orange, red, yellow bell pepper, chopped

1 jalapeno, seeded and diced

1 cup black beans

1 cup frozen corn

1/2 cup cilantro, roughly chopped

2  tsp. olive oil

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and stir well.  Allow flavors to marinate for about 2 hours then serve and enjoy!
 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers