Kats’ Kitchen

Monkey Cakes February 16, 2013

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

There is this local diner in our area where I have eaten only a small handful of times.  Not enough to have tried everything on their menu.  The maybe 3 times I’ve been I always eye something on the menu called Monkey Cakes.  I have never gotten it for myself, because I love to order their skillet or omelet and get all the fixings that go with it, but our last visit there my husband and I took our children.  Knowing my daughter, I knew she would love the Monkey Cakes, as the description says “bacon, peanut butter, bananas and chocolate sauce”.  She loves peanut butter on her banana and enjoys her bacon and chocolate, what kid doesn’t like chocolate.  So, we went ahead and ordered it for her.  And thankfully, she loves sharing with her momma, so I got a few bites of the ooey gooey monkey cakes.  So why am I telling you this?  Because I recreated them in my own kitchen!  One snowy morning I woke up thinking…I have bacon in my freezer…we have bananas, of course there is chocolate sauce in our fridge and we always have peanut butter on hand…I think I can make my daughter (and myself) some Monkey Cakes this morning!

Monkey-CakesSo how do ya make them?  Easy.  Make your favorite pancake, either from scratch or from the box.  I’ve been using the recipe below recently.  Then caramelize up some bananas using the super simple recipe below.  Cook some bacon (my fav way is in the oven on a sheet pan covered with tinfoil.  Lay bacon flat and put it in the oven THEN preheat oven to 400 degrees and set timer for 18-24 minutes until bacon is cooked to your liking).  Take out some chocolate syrup and your jar of peanut butter and melt some peanut butter in your microwave just before serving.  Top the pancakes with all these ingredients and add butter and syrup to your liking.

‘Buttermilk’ Pancakes

1 1/2 cups milk

3 T white vinegar

2 cups flour

1/4 cup white sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 eggs

1/4 cup butter, melted

cooking spray

Combine milk with vinegar in a medium bowl and set aside for 5 minutes to ‘sour’.  Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.  Whisk egg and butter into ‘soured’ milk.  Pour this into the flour mixture and whisk until lumps are gone.  Heat large skillet over medium heat, or electric griddle.  Spray with cooking spray.  Pour 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto skillet, cook until bubbles appear on the surface.  Flip with spatula and cook until browned on the other side.  Serves 4-6

Recipe from Tried and True

Caramelized Bananas

2 medium-small firm bananas, peeled

1/2 tablespoon butter

3 tablespoons light brown sugar

1/4 cup dark rum, or orange juice

1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Cut bananas in half lengthwise. Melt butter in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add brown sugar and lay the banana slices on top, cut side up. Cook undisturbed for 20 seconds, then add rum (or orange juice) and cinnamon. Cook for 10 seconds, then turn bananas carefully and cook for 45 to 60 seconds more, basting with the pan sauce. Serve on pancakes or ice cream.

Recipe Eating Well

 

3 Responses to “Monkey Cakes”

  1. oh my goodness gracious. i think you have my soul!

  2. stacielk Says:

    looks like this is your kind of breakfast…with the bacon and all!!! Thanks for commenting!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    So…this kinda looks disgusting to me…not sure why because I like all these things separate, but together!!!?!?!??? Elijah wants me to make it though so maybe I’ll give it a try sometime. I did make bacon this way for BLTs tonight and how nice not to have grease splattering all over and stink up the whole house. I think I would turn it up to 425 next time because it took almost 30 min to get to proper crunchy bacon:)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers