Kats’ Kitchen

Apple Pecan Coffee Cake February 12, 2013

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

Apple-Pecan-CCNot sure how much I have expressed my love for pecans on this blog, but they are my favorite nut!  I love almost all nuts, but pecans are at the top for me.  When I find recipes that have pecans in it, I usually hold on to the recipe hoping I will eventually have a chance to make it.  This is one of those recipes.  I pulled it out of a magazine that I was looking through while I had some down-time at the cottage.  My mom always has a handful of magazines around.  Not sure exactly which magazine this came out of but I want to say it was Country Woman…maybe…an old one, probably from 7-10 years ago.

I have an extremely hard time making recipes without looking at reviews, thanks to the internet, which I have a love/hate relationship with.  I wanted to search this recipe on the internet so badly, whether it was on allrecipes.com or even just a google search, but I held back and went ahead and made it.  So glad I did!  First of course my favorite part is the topping, which contained…PECANS!  Yum!  The cake part was a super tender cake and had a nice extremely thin layer of apple (unless you cut your apples thicker than I do) to bring about the apple flavor.  Loved it and the recipe will be staying in my ‘binder-of-coffeecakes’.

This recipe can easily be cut in half to make a 9 inch coffee cake instead of 2 – 9 inch coffee cakes, but I bet it would freezer really well for at least a couple of months!

Apple Pecan Coffee Cake

Cake:

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 3/4 cup buttermilk (I made my own=1 3/4 T vinegar + the remaining milk to come up with 1 3/4 cup liquid)

2 medium apples, peeled and thinly sliced

Topping:

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

3 T butter

1/2 cup coarsely chopped PECANS

In a mixing bowl, cream shortening and butter.  Add sugar gradually, beating until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with buttermilk.  Spoon half of batter into two greased and floured 9-in. round cake pans.  Arrange apples slices over batter; top with remaining batter.

For topping, combine flour, sugar and cinnamon.  Cut in butter; stir in pecans.  Sprinkle EVENLY over batter.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until cake tests done witha  wooden pick.

Recipe from Ethel Hodges which was posted in an old magazine

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers