Kats’ Kitchen

Italian Wedding Soup January 31, 2013

Filed under: soup — stacielk @ 7:00 am

Wedding-Soup

It’s January, soup weather right? After a strange 60+ degree day a couple days ago, we are supposed to be getting some temps in the teens today, so definitly a good soup day! I’ve had this soup under my ‘soup’ tab in my recipe binder for at least a couple years now. It just looked so good when I saw it on King Arthur Flour and it got some rave reviews. I finally got around to making it with some help from my mom. The reviews are right, it is an awesome soup! Full of flavor and very filling. This will be on my winter soup list to make each year.

A few minor changes we made/will make next time:

-left out the spinach, please by all means add it, I enjoy spinach but we decided to leave it out this time.

-added roasted mushrooms, as I ate the soup, mainly because I had them in my fridge that I had to use up and I am a mushroom lover!

-next time we will try using only 1 2/3 cup orzo pasta to start – if you have never used orzo pasta, it continues to soak up the liquid, so it ends up to be a super thick soup. I may even try to cook the pasta in some of the soup broth and then add the pasta as I eat the soup, if that makes sense….

Head over to King Arthur Flour for the Italian Wedding Soup recipe. Please come back and tell me what you think if you try it!

My daughter even enjoyed it, in fact, when I went to taking the picture, she, as usual, asked me to take a picture of her with her soup.
Regan-Soup

 

One Response to “Italian Wedding Soup”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    Regarding adding the cooked noodles as you eat the soup ~ That makes GREAT sense! I actually have a few recipes that I cook the soup and the noodles/rice seperately and then when serving I just put a scoop of noodles/rice in the bottom of the bowls and pour soup over. Works great and keep leftovers soupy and not overly thickened! Looks fantastic! Cannot wait to make it! Good to know that someone else’s kids like to be photographed with THEIR food while mom is taking pictures of her food…… silly blogging stuff!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers