Kats’ Kitchen

And yet…another Chicken Salad and Sweet Potato Rolls January 24, 2013

Filed under: Chicken,Salad,Side Dish — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

I have not always loved Chicken Salad, I’d say up until I graduated college, I was not a big fan.  Not that I was served it very much, but I think once I got married and especially had kids is when I really started liking it.  It is one of those things that is served at luncheons, showers, playdates, etc.  Something easy to whip together ahead of time and serve without too much hassle.  Now, I love it!  I make a batch for a week of lunches for myself.  I have two other great Chicken Salad recipes here and I want to add this to my list.  These are my top 3 Chicken Salad Recipes…as of now.  This recipe is different from the others because of the poppy seeds and greek yogurt.

Also, head over to Salad in a Jar for a great Sweet Potato Roll recipe.  These turned out great.  They had a bit of sweetness to them.  I ate them with my chicken salad but I liked them better warmed up as a dinner roll.  (I skipped the glaze because I made them earlier in the day, I also made half the batch in cresant shape and the other half as a regular dinner roll).

DSC_0076

Poppy Seed Chicken Salad

2 cups cooked chicken, cubed

½ cup slivered almonds, toasted

¼ cup celery, finely chopped

1-2 tablespoons poppy seeds

⅓ cup dried cranberries

¼ cup Greek yogurt, unflavored (may substitute more mayo)

½ cup mayonnaise (I use reduced fat)

1 teaspoon lemon juice

Pinch of sugar

Salt

Stir above ingredients together and chill.  Serve on roll, cresant, bun, tortilla, toast, crackers, etc.

Recipe from Salad In A Jar

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers