Kats’ Kitchen

Italian Sausage and Peppers Penne January 5, 2013

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

Happy New Year to my readers!!!  I hope everyone had nice celebrations, whether you stayed home with the family and went to bed early or went out on the town and stayed up till the wee hours of the  night (not me!!!).  Our celebration was pretty low-key.  We enjoyed a nice dinner with some friends of ours and then headed home to put the kids to bed…and then myself.  I was back up about 1 a.m. to fill my little one’s tummy and to celebrate the new year that already made its appearance. :)

On to this yummy dish I made a couple days ago.  Italian Sausage and Peppers Penne came from a cookbook called Generous Helpings.  The book came from a thrift store called Sertoma Centre, Inc.  I had peppers I needed to use up and thought this would be a great recipe to try b/c I had pretty much everything in the house.  It was pretty simple to throw together besides the bit of prepping.  I have not made too many recipes with It sausage links.  My husband likes them best grilled up on a bun.  I could pass them up easily, but was looking for something new for my family’s meals besides stuff that called for pork, chicken and hamburger.

Here is the full recipe.  It should feed about 6 people.  I made half and it made a good 3 portions.

It-Sausage-and-Peppers

Italian Sausage and Peppers Penne

8 oz Penne pasta

2 tsp olive oil

6-8 Italian sausage links (I used 3 for 1/2 the recipe)

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 green pepper, cut into strips

1 yellow pepper, cut into strips

1 red pepper, cut into strips

14 oz diced tomatoes with basil garlic oregano (I used about 3/4ths the can and used fireroasted diced tomatoes instead)

8 oz tomato sauce

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, to sprinkle on top

Cook pasta according to package directions.  While cooking pasta, heat oil over medium heat in large skillet and add Italian sausage.  Brown sausage and cook thoroughly (this takes a while if they are thick).  Remove sausage from pan and cut into 1 inch slices.  Add onion, green, yellow and red peppers to skillet.  Cook 5-6 minutes or until crisp-tender, stirring occasionally.  Stir in tomatoes, tomato sauce and sliced sausage.  Cook covered 6-8 minutes or until heated through.  Place drained pasta into the skillet and toss together.  Serve with Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.  Enjoy!

Recipe from Generous Helpings

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers