Kats’ Kitchen

Chicken Stroganoff November 16, 2012

Filed under: Chicken — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

This dish was on my menu for this week.  I am going to be honest and tell you, the morning before making it, I read through the recipe and backed out of making it.  Because it didn’t sound good, didn’t think my family was going to like it at all, thought it was going to be a red sauce (not that I don’t like red sauces…), not really exactly sure why, but I had another meat pulled out of my freezer…and then…I talked myself back into it, mainly because I purchased a few of the ingredients especially for this dish and wasn’t sure what I was going to do with them if I didn’t make it.  So, I made my way back to my basement freezer to return the ‘replacement’ meat and pull out some chicken.  In the end, I am glad I ended up making it!  It was very tasty!  I should have been a bit more patient with the sauce as I didn’t wait quite long enough for it to thicken so it was a bit soupy, but not unedible!  A great side with this is mashed potatoes, rice or some kind of pasta.  Enjoy!

Chicken Stroganoff

2 T olive oil

1 medium yellow onion, sliced

1 bell pepper, any color, sliced

8 oz mushrooms (or small can, sliced)

4 boneless chicken breasts, cut into strips

1 cup dry white wine

1 cup chicken broth

2 T bbq sauce

1 tsp worcestershire

2 T dijon or spicy brown mustard

1 tsp hot sauce (I omitted)

1/2 cup sour cream

Heat 1 T oil in large saucepan over med heat.  Add onions, peppers and mushrooms.  Cook until soft and salt and pepper to taste.  Remove from pan.

Add 1 T oil to pan and add chicken strips.  Season with salt and pepper to taste and cook until golden brown and cooked through.  Add to vegetables.

Pour wine, broth and any liquid accumulated in the veggie/chicken bowl back into the pan and bring to boil scraping bottom of pan.  Add bbq sauce, worcestershire, mustard and hot sauce, whisking until smooth.  Reduce to half (this is where you need to be patient, it could take a bit of time!) and sauce is slightly thickened.  Reduce heat and whisk in sour cream careful to not boil.  Add chicken and eggies back to pan and simmer until heated through.  Serve with pasta, potato or rice.

Recipe from Tried & True

 

One Response to “Chicken Stroganoff”

  1. WOW, that sounds fabulous.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers