Kats’ Kitchen

Avocado Spinach Egg Salad March 16, 2012

Filed under: Breakfast,Main Dishes,Miscellaneous — stacielk @ 11:58 am
Tags: , , , ,

It’s been a CRAZY week!  For my family at least, many families probably have weeks like this very often, but not us.  Our nights have been super short and sweet because of stuff that had to be done, places that we had to go, etc.  I’ve pulled out a container of Chicken Noodle Soup one night, even in this summer-like weather.  Gave my husband some hot dogs to grill up another night when I had to run out the door and we even headed to Portillos another night when time didn’t allow cooking or eating at home.  Love there beef sandwiches and they have an AWESOME chocolate cake shake….but saved a few calories THIS time from not ordering one of those.  Oh yes, we had a decent meal on Monday night – grilled Cajun Salmon and mashed potatoes.  Good to get some Omega 3s in the body!

For lunch this week I’ve been making this Avocado Spinach Egg Salad which I found when I was searching on foodgawker.com recently.  This is a new fav site for  me – even more than pinterest!  Take a look for yourself but don’t say I didn’t warn you – it’s addicting!  The avocado recipe was posted on the website called We Are Not Martha.  It is a delicious and healthy lunch.  I love the creamyness of it all and the sprinkle of salt adds the perfect touch.

Avocado Spinach Egg Salad

1 hardboiled egg

2 T plain greek yogurt

1/3 avocado

1/3 celery stalk, chopped

4-5 baby spinach leaves, ch0pped

hot pepper flakes, to taste (I don’t like heat, I omit this)

good bread, toasted if desired (I use whole wheat)

Peel and mash the egg with the yogurt, avocado, celery, spinach and hot pepper flakes.  Toast your bread and spread with avocado mixture.  Sprinkle with salt.  Enjoy!

Recipe adopted from We are Not Martha

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers