Kats’ Kitchen

Homemade Dinner Rolls November 23, 2011

Filed under: Bread,Miscellaneous — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

I have made these dinner rolls a few times now and LOVE them!  I can’t believe I haven’t posted about them yet.  They turn out super tender, light and almost melt-in-your  mouth, if a dinner roll can do that.  I’ve made them quite often on Sunday mornings.  Throw all the ingredients in the bread machine before church then form them by hand after church, let them rise and bake them in the oven.  I need to thank Paula from Salad in a Jar for this recipe.  Go check out her blog, she has some more great recipes on it, including one for cinnamon rolls that I cannot wait to try, using this exact dough recipe!

I wish I snapped a picture of these the last time I made them, but for one reason or another, I didn’t.  Go to Paula’s site to see a picture.

Homemade Dinner Rolls

1 cup warm milk (if using skim milk, replace 2 Tablespoons of milk with heavy cream)
1/4 cup shortening
1 teaspoon salt
1 egg
3 tablespoons sugar
3  cups unbleached  flour
2 1/4 teaspoons bread or instant yeast

Place ingredients into bread machine in order listed. Select dough cycle.  After about 5 minutes, check dough. It should barely stick to sides and then pull away.  If too wet, add flour 1 tablespoon at a time.  If too dry, add water or milk one tablespoon at a time. When finished, dough should be doubled in size and light. If not, allow to stay in bread machine a few more minutes till risen.

Punch down gently. Place on floured surface and form into two large balls. Divide each ball into 8 pieces.

Make balls from each piece by pulling dough toward the bottom while turning the dough.

Arrange balls in 8 or 9-inch round or square pan and cover with towel or loose plastic wrap. Place in a warm spot until doubled.  (Side note:  I believe I might have brushed them with butter before baking, b/c the last time I made them, they did not brown as I thought they did before.  The directions don’t say to, but if you want a nice browned top, brush with melted butter.)

Bake in 350-degree preheated oven until golden brown, usually about 10-12 minutes. Within 5 minutes, dump baked rolls out of pan and let cool on rack or paper plate so they won’t get soggy from the steam they produce.

Recipe from Salad in a Jar


I want to wish all of you a Happy Thanksgiving!  I hope you get to eat a lot of delicious food and would love to hear about it!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers