Kats’ Kitchen

Let’s Go Nuts for Doughnuts! October 27, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 1:15 am
Tags: , , ,

Welcome back to the DARING BAKER’s!  Yes, that’s right, I’m back in it, at least for this month :)

I’ve taken a 8-9 month break.  My fellow Daring Baker’s have been baking a lot of delicious goodies such as Decorated Sugar Cookies last month which I was tempted to try, but before I knew it September was over.  August was Ice Cream Petit Fours and Baked Alaska which looked yummy but way to complicated for me at the time and July was Swiss Swirl Ice Cream Cake

When I found out this month was doughnuts, I was all about it and knew it would be a perfect time to start up again with the group, I’ve wanted to make homemade doughnuts for a while now.  What a great opportunity to do it with the Daring Bakers!

So, here we go…

The October 2010 Daring Bakers challenge was hosted by Lori of Butter Me Up. Lori chose to challenge DBers to make doughnuts. She used several sources for her recipes including Alton Brown, Nancy Silverton, Kate Neumann and Epicurious.

We had the option to make either cake or yeast donuts, I went for cake.  I topped some of the donuts with cinnamon sugar and some with a Chocolate Doughnut Glaze.

The recipe was very easy to follow.  My first few doughnuts were thinner than they were supposed to be, I flattened the dough out too much, but I also got some thicker ones out of the batch.

You can find the recipe here

Old-Fashioned Buttermilk Cake Doughnuts

 

 

2 Responses to “Let’s Go Nuts for Doughnuts!”

  1. crustabakes Says:

    Welcome back to Daring Baker’s! Your donuts look delish!

  2. ingrid Says:

    I’m thinking this would be my comeback challenge if I was a Daring Baker too! :) That cinnamon sugar donut looks outstanding!
    ~ingrid


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers