Kats’ Kitchen

Sour Cream Pancakes with Pomegranate Syrup December 31, 2009

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 11:51 am
Tags: , , , ,

Happy New Year!  I know, it’s not quite the New Year, I have about 13 hours until it’s actually here, but I’ll probably be out cold…unless I get a nap in today. 

I hope you all had a nice Christmas.  Ours was very nice and busy.  My sister, brother-in-law and new nephew were in town all of December so we tried to spend as much time with them as possible before they headed back to Nigeria.  Plus other family and friend parties made our December overall go by quickly, but that didn’t stop me from posting, which you probably  noticed if you’ve been following my blog closely this month. 

I took off work this week between Christmas and New Years.  As much as I would have loved to have the week before Christmas off to prepare, I’m so glad it was the week after so I could recover from the busyness and prepare for our little one in late March!  I decided to make pancakes a couple of mornings ago, a recipe from my new cookbook The Pioneer Woman Cooks.  As suggested, I got out my iron skillet and cooked them up in that.  The pancakes unfortunately were not up to par.  They were extremely moist which could be a good thing, but it was a bit overboard.  I will probably try this recipe again on my electric griddle to see if they would turn out any better, maybe I didn’t let them cook long enough, I won’t give up on the recipe or the cookbook yet!

To go with the pancakes, I made a Pomegranate Syrup with some POM juice samples thanks were mailed to me thanks to Kristen over there at POM Wonderful.  The syrup turned out wonderfully, with a nice tang of pomegranate.

Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes

1 cup sour cream

7 Tbsp all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 large eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

butter

pancake syrup

Place an iron skillet or griddle over medium-low heat.  You want it to get nice and hot. 

Place the sour cream in a medium bowl.  Dump in the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.

Stir together very gently, just short of the mixture being totally combined.

Whisk the eggs in a separate bowl.  Add the vanilla and stir to combine.

Pour the egg mixture into the sour cream/flour mixture and stir gently until just combined, a little white/yellow swirling is fine. 

Melt about a Tbsp of butter in the skillet.  Pour the batter into the skillet 1/4 cup at a time.

Cook for 1 to 1 1/2 minutes then flip the pancakes over.  Cook for another 45 seconds and remove to a plate.  Repeat with remaining batter.

Stack up the pancakes and serve with butter and syrup.  Enjoy!

Recipe from Pioneer Woman

Pomegranate Syrup

1/2 cup sugar

1 Tbsp cornstarch

1/8 tsp cinnamon

pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

pinch of salt

Pour in 1 cup of POM juice and whisk over heat until the mixture comes to a boil.  SImmer for 1 minute then remove from the heat and add 1 Tbsp butter and 1 Tbsp lemon juice.

Recipe from Brownie Points

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers