Kats’ Kitchen

Gingersnaps with a White Chocolate Drizzle December 28, 2009

Filed under: cookies — stacielk @ 12:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

In my opinion, most people turn their heads when they see gingersnap cookies.  Have they tried them before?  Maybe, and not liked them or maybe they haven’t and just don’t think they would like the taste, but I suggest they give them a chance (or a second chance, if that’s the case).  I made these a couple years ago and loved them!  I got a lot of good comments from the people I shared them with, I can’t believe how long it took me to make another batch of them!  I decided to use this cookie as my Cookie Exchange cookie at BKS (work).  Instead of dipping the cookies in white chocolate, as the recipe directs, I decided to drizzle the chocolate over the cookie.  I liked the drizzle better so that each bite of cookie you get a taste of the white chocolate. 

The texture of these cookies are crunchy.  I’ve made soft gingersnaps before and I wasn’t so fond of them, so if it would be your first time baking/trying gingersnaps, I suggest these crunchy ones.  Plus, they would be great for dunking!

Gingersnaps w/ White Chocolate Drizzle

2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups canola oil

2 eggs

1/2 cup molasses

4 cups all-purpose flour

4 tsp baking soda

3 tsp ground ginger

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp salt

additional sugar

1/2 pkg white baking chips

3 Tbsp shortening

In a large bowl, combine sugar and oil.  Beat in eggs.  Stir in molasses.  Combine the flour, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.

Shape into 3/4 inch balls and roll in sugar.  Place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes or until cookie springs back when touched lightly.  Remove to wire racks to cool.

In a small microwavable bowl, melt chips with shortening in 30 second increments, stirring each time until smooth.  Using a fork, drizzle white chocolate over cookies and let harden.

Makes 6 dozen

Recipe adopted from Taste of Home

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers