Kats’ Kitchen

Favorite Sheet Pan Pizza July 2, 2009

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 2:55 am
Tags: , ,

I would say this is my fav thin-crust pizza  recipe.  It comes from Cook’s Country.  They also have a recipe for sauce, but I am happy with my homemade sauce recipe and I haven’t tried theirs (plus it’s a little more involved). 

This recipe has you bake the pizza in three different steps.  1. just the crust sprinkled with Parmesan cheese to give the sauce something to hold it in place; 2. after the sauce is spread over the crust which takes the moisture out of the sauce to keep the pizza from getting soggy; and 3. after all toppings are added.  If you have the time and patience, I suggest you try it this way.  If not, I’ve skipped baking the pizza after the sauce and threw all my ingredients on top and baked until slightly brown and bubbly, which worked fine.

Pizza

Sheet Pan Pizza Dough

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, separated

7/8 cup hot water (I bet you don’t have a 7/8 cup…I don’t, so I use a 1/2, 1/4 & 1/8 cups, kind of stupid but I’m halving the recipe to make one 18×13 inch pizza)

1/2 Tbsp sugar

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 envelope or 2 1/4 tsp instant/active yeast

1 tsp salt

Adjust oven rack to lowest position and heat oven to 200 degrees. When oven reaches 200 degrees, turn off oven. Grease large bowl. Evenly coat 18- by 13-inch rimmed baking sheet with 1/8 cup oil.

Combine water, sugar, and 1/8 cup oil in measuring cup. In bowl of standing mixer fitted with dough hook, mix flour, yeast, and salt on low speed until combined. Increase speed to medium-low and slowly add water mixture until dough is uniform in texture, about 3 minutes. Transfer dough to prepared bowl, cover with plastic, and place in warm oven. Let rise until doubled in size, about 30 minutes.

On lightly floured work surface, use rolling pin to roll dough into 16- by 12-inch rectangle. Transfer dough to prepared baking sheet and stretch dough to cover pan, pressing dough into corners. Brush dough with oil and cover with plastic wrap. Set in warm spot (not oven) until slightly risen, about 20 minutes. Heat oven to 450 degrees.

Remove plastic wrap and, using fingers, make indentations all over dough. Sprinkle dough with 1 cup Parmesan and bake until cheese begins to melt, 7 to 10 minutes. Remove baking sheet from oven and spoon sauce over pizza, leaving 1-inch border. Bake until sauce is deep red and steaming, 7 to 10 minutes.

Sprinkle mozzarella and remaining Parmesan evenly over sauce and bake until cheese is golden brown, about 12 minutes. Remove pizza from oven and let rest 5 minutes. Serve.

Serves 3-4

Recipe from Cook’s Country

 

3 Responses to “Favorite Sheet Pan Pizza”

  1. Justin Says:

    This looks really good! :) YUMMY When can we have it again.

  2. Rachael Says:

    I made this tonight but after I put the dough on the pan it didn’t rise much at all. Is there something I did wrong? It’s in the oven and I can’t wait to try it. My dough always turns a bit soggy in the middle so I’m looking forward to a bit of crunch.

  3. stacielk Says:

    Funny, I made this tonight for my family! I had a bit of a problem this time, my pizza didn’t come off the pan as easily. I think I didn’t oil it enough, but it was still tasty! To answer your question…it may be your yeast. Is your yeast old? If you think your yeast is fine (the only way to test it as far as I know is by using it in another recipe that calls for it) the only other thing I can think of is it wasn’t in a warm enough place to rise. Newer ovens have a dough rise setting but if yours doesn’t, I’d suggest turning your oven to the lowest temp for about 5 min then shutting it off and putting the dough (rolled out, oiled with suran wrap on pan) inside for 15-20 minutes. Then taking it out and reheating the oven to 450 to get ready to bake. Hopefully this helps and I really hope your pizza still turned out ok! Let me know if you have any other questions.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers