Kats’ Kitchen

Steak Pizzaiola Burgers January 13, 2009

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 10:35 am
Tags: , , , ,

burger

One of the cookbooks I got for Christmas this year was Rachael Ray’s Big Orange Book.  As I was going through it to decide which recipe I would make first, I saw the photo for the Steak Pizzaiola Burgers and knew instantly my husband and I would love it.  Rachael explains that she came up with this recipe for Donald Trump who enjoys a nice steak and appreciates good pizza (sounds like my husband).  I’ve made this two times now and we both love it.  As far as the preperation goes, I’ve made a few changes .  Who wants to get three pans dirty all at once to make any meal!?!?  Not me! 

So here is the recipe with a few changes in the ingredients I used and my prep.  If you want to see how Racheal preps it, check here

(I really wish I took a picture of it after being cut open, but after that first bite…it wasn’t going to happen.)

Steak Pizzaiola Burgers

(Recipe adopted from:  Rachael Ray)

3 Tbsp canola oil

2 large onions, thinly sliced

salt & pepper

3 Tbsp tomato paste

3/4 cup beef/chicken broth (dry red wine)

2 lbs ground beef

1/2 cup pepperoni, finely chopped

1/4 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

2-3 Tbsp garlic olive oil

4 slices bread (I use Jewels homemade wheat but want to try sesame semolina sometime), 1 inch thick

1/2-3/4 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

8 slices provolone

Preparation

1.  (This can be done up to a day in advance) Mix together ground beef, pepperoni, parsley, oregano and red pepper flakes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Divide in 4 parts (5-6 oz each) and form patties using a burger press to make them even, or your hands. 

2.  Heat 2 Tbsp oil in a large pan over medium-high heat.  Chop onions, add to the pan and season with salt and pepper.  Cook unions until they soften8-10 minutes. 

3.  Add tomato paste to onions and cook, stirring occasionally until they start to caramelize (2-3 minutes).  Add wine/broth and cook until it pretty much evaporates.  Remove onion mixture into small dish and cover with foil.

4.  Place the bread slices on baking sheet and broil them until toasted on both sides. 

5.  Heat dirty pan with remaining oil and cook patties for 3-4 minutes on both side for medium doneness (the time may be different depending on thickness and heat level).  As they are cooking, remove toasted bread and brush with garlic olive oil on one side and  sprinkle with grated parm-reg cheese. 

6.  Top bread slices with cooked burgers, divide the onion mixture among the burgers and top with 1-2 slices of cheese.  Place burgers under broil until cheese melts (2-3 minutes).

7.  Serve with knife and fork.

 

5 Responses to “Steak Pizzaiola Burgers”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I think I should start making a list of what we want you to make for us when we come home:) Looks good!

  2. Deborah Says:

    Yum!! I love Rachael Ray, but for some reason, I don’t own any of her cookbooks. I should check this one out, because this recipe sounds fabulous!

  3. Jaime Says:

    this looks like something my hubby would like!

  4. Rachael Says:

    Would you freeze these before cooking them or after?

  5. stacielk Says:

    I put the burger mixture together, form them in patties and then freeze the patties. Then when you are ready to have them, you of course will let them unthaw and prepare the remaining part of the ‘burger’ that day. Hope this makes sense, if not let me know!


Leave a comment