Kats’ Kitchen

Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins November 14, 2008

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 2:00 am
Tags: , , ,

cinnamin-donut-muffin

I made these muffins on Saturday to be eaten Sunday morning before church.  It took a lot not to taste them before Sunday.  They looked and smelled so good.  The cinnamon sugar topping that was added after they were baked really made the muffin that much better. 

I may just make these again this weekend since they were so good the first time and easy, I didn’t have to haul out my electric mixer, just used a spatula to get everything combined. 

Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins

(Recipe adopted from:  Laura Rebecca’s Kitchen)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup white flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 large eggs

1 cup sour cream (plain yogurt)

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

4 to 8 tbsp oil

1 tsp vanilla

Topping:

1/2 stick butter, melted

1/4 cup sugar

½ tsp cinnamon

Position oven rack in the middle position and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a standard muffin pan with paper cups sprayed with non-stick spray.

Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, sour cream/yogurt, sugar, oil, and vanilla.  Add flour mixture and mix with light strokes until the dry ingredients are just moistened.  Don’t overmix; batter will be slightly lumpy.

Divide batter among the muffin cups and bake until a toothpick inserted in one or two of the muffins come out clean, 12-15 minutes.

While the muffins are baking, melt 1/2 stick butter and place in a bowl just large enough to hold a muffin.  Combine 1/2 cup sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon in a small, shallow bowl.  As soon as the muffins are done, dip them one at a time in the melted butter and then roll in the sugar mixture.  Set on a rack to cool.

Yields 12 standard muffins.

 

6 Responses to “Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins”

  1. ingrid Says:

    OOOO, I’ve seen similar recipes and everytime I wonder what I am waiting for, a personal invite to give these a try! DUH! I’m printing the recipe out and slapping it on top of my must make stack!
    Thanks!
    ~ingrid

  2. Ingrid Says:

    Hi,
    I did it! I did it! Thank you! As I mentioned earlier I had seen similar recipes around but it was YOUR photo that finally got me moving! And I’m so glad! My children absolutely loved these. I don’t know if they will last until morning so that I can take a photo of one for my blog. But I will be making these again and again. I will definitely spread the word giving you full “props”. I know, I know I’m going on and on.

    I did make a few minor changes. First, I didn’t use any whole wheat flour. I didn’t have any. Instead of sour cream I used creme fraiche. And I dipped half of the muffins in demerara cinnamon sugar. I wanted to see how the crunchier textured taste. Both ways were equally yummy.
    Thx, again!
    ~ingrid

  3. Jeanine Says:

    These look finger lickin’ good! Yum!

  4. […] into my kids without them knowing it! I hope you too make these and enjoy! Grab the recipe here at Kats’ Kitchen. (PLEASE enjoy her picture, mine really wasn’t so very good, […]

  5. Bobbi Says:

    Do you add 4 TB. of oil or 8TB???? :)

  6. stacielk Says:

    No idea! Although, as you posted on your blog, I like your idea of 4 T oil and 4 T applesauce. Will be making these in the next couple weeks!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers