Kats’ Kitchen

Banana Chip Pound Cake March 8, 2008

Filed under: cake — stacielk @ 1:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

banana-choc-bread.jpgI had some sour cream that needed to be used up and I knew I had some bananas in the freezer that needed to be turned into something so what else to do with them except get out the handy dandy mixer and do some baking!  I didn’t start mixing everything till 8:30 on a Wednesday night, which is a late start for me, but my husband and I wanted to go to our Wednesday night service at church (Faith), which is what we did and therefore I couldn’t start till later.  I must say it was worth it, for one, going to Faith, great service and two, baking the pound cake, it was excellent!  Some of the batter spilled out of one of the pans in the oven (a couple minutes after my husband said, “That is smelling really good!”  I hear “Yuck!”…oops) and I got a little impatient and pulled the loaves out a bit too early but other than that the baking went smooth.  I woke up the morning after and could still smell a hint of the burnt smell in the house!  Great way to wake up, but knowing that the cake was cooled and ready to be eaten made up for it!  Mmmm…very moist and fluffy.  Banana and chocolate, another one of my favorite combos.  Thanks to Justin who kindly wrapped the loaves after they cooled.  I knew he was staying up late working anyway and I wanted get some sleep! 

Banana Chip Pound Cake

(Original recipe from:  Peabody)

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup mascarpone cheese (or 1/4 c. sour cream + 1/4 c. cream cheese)

6 oz unsalted butter, at room temp.

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 ripened bananas, pureed

3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 250.  Grease & flour a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt into a medium bowl and set aside.  Combine the sour cream and mascarpone cheese (or substitute) in a small bowl and set aside.

Using a standing mixer fitted with a paddle, beat the butter with the cinnamon on high speed until soft and creamy, about 1 minute.  Slowly add the sugar, 1 Tbsp at a time, beating continuously on high speed.  It should take 5 to 10 minutes to add the sugar.  The mixture should be light, fluffy and creamy white in color.  Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula. 

Add the eggs, one at a time.  Be sure each egg is completely incorporated and scrape down the sides of the bowl before adding the next.

Add one third of the flour mixture to the batter and beat until it is just incorporated.  Add one third of the cheese mixture and mix until just incorporated.  Repeat adding flour then cheese explained above, two times.  Fold in the bananas and chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into prepared pan.  Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes.  Cool in the pan on a rack for 5-10 minutes, then remove from pan and set on rack to cool. 

FYI:  This is the second time I’ve made this recipe, if that tells you how much I liked it.  The first time I cut into the cake when it was still warm and it crumbled quite a bit, so if you want clean cuts, wait to let it cool thoroughly, but it was tasty right out of the oven also.  Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “Banana Chip Pound Cake”

  1. Deborah Says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever tried a banana pound cake, but it sounds wonderful!!

  2. peabody Says:

    So glad you like the pound cake. I think the mascarpone really adds something to it.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers