Kats’ Kitchen

Payday Bars February 13, 2008

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 2:56 pm
Tags: , , , ,

payday.jpgThese bars are my husband’s ultimate favorite.  I don’t make them on a regular occasion since I don’t think he would enjoy them as much if he saw them sitting on the counter week after week.  These bars are similar to the Payday candy bar without the chocolate.  I’ve always thought about drizzling chocolate over the top but never actually have, probably because I’d end up eating more of them since I’m a chocolate lover which would leave my husband with less.  I got this recipe from my mother-in-law who passed it down to me when Justin and I got married.  I love seeing his reaction when he comes home and sees these bars sitting on the counter waiting for him to eat them up.  It’s priceless!

Payday Bars

1 cup Sugar

1 cup white Karo Syrup

1 cup Peanut Butter

1 tsp Vanilla

6 cups Rise Chex

1 cup Spanish Nuts

Heat sugar & Karo syrup together.  Bring to a boil and cook for 2 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Stir in Peanut Butter and Vanilla.  Pour over Rice Chex and Nuts.  Mix together in 9×13 pan lined with tin foil and cut while still warm.

 

One Response to “Payday Bars”

  1. Deborah Says:

    I have got to try these! They look so delicious!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers